Processor help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2005, 02:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 195
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by uzi9mm
They do more work per clock cycle.
Bing bing bing! Intel proccessers are "Quad pumped" meaning they proccess four commands per 1 CPU cycle, as where AMD chips are "double pumped". Thats the reason why a P4 with an FSB rated at 800mhz is only 200mhz actual fsb.
__________________

__________________
-=Complete!=-

-DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
-AMD 64 3000 Winnie
-eVga 6600GT (PCIe)
-Mushkin Dual Pack PC3200 (512 X2)
-80gb WD SATA HDD
-Lite-On CD-RW
-Creative Live! Series 5.1 surround sound w/subwoofer
-Fans Galore
CreditSolutions is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 03:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Editing what?

Pinnacle Liquid 6 == Single amd64 3200+ with a 6600 or 6800
Vegas == Dual xeon setup with a mid-range video card
Sonar == Dual operton setup with a mid-range video card

It all depends on what program you're using, as to what will give you the best performance.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 03:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

I assumed he meant video editing since that's what Intel are known to be better for.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 03:38 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Vegas doesnt need dual xeon's, I can run it on a p3 800 pretty easily.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.