Processor Does Not Run at Full Speed. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2004, 12:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 44
Default Processor Does Not Run at Full Speed.

After my computer won't start a few months ago I finally gave up and decided to take it to a technician. After getting jacked $210 for a motherboard made by Abit VA-10/VA-11 worth like $50-$60 my computer now runs (my video card got changed from a geforce2 to some s3 garbage) However, now games run at only 60%. Is there a way to fix this problem? My processor is still a Athlon XP 2000+ but from its original 1.68GHz it is now only 1.26GHz (screenshot)

I've been told to update drivers, but they're pretty much updated. I've also been told to set my CPU Clock is to 133, but it was already that way by default.
__________________

Shadow Rider is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 03:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

well 133Mhz is your CPU physical FSB, not it's clock frequency. the technician probably changed your multiplier so you will need to change it back. i am thinking he did this for a reason, possibley your system won't run well without underclocking it. i don't recommend it in your case, but to set it back change your frequency multiple (multiplier) to .....i think it should be 12.5, somebody should double check that math though: 1672/133=12.5
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 03:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Whenever the CMOS is cleared, the FSB defaults to 100 MHz, thus you should make the change to 133 immediately (most motherboards will tell you to check the processor at POST).

As noted above you should also make sure you select the correct model in the BIOS setup, in this, case, 2000+ (12.5 multiplier, 133 MHz FSB = ~1662.5 MHz)
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 10:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 44
Default

I switched it back to 133MHz with the same 60% effect, this happens only when the game runs at full screen, though it was able to run at 100% with the same settings before. Can someone take a guess at what menu the multiplier setting would be under? because I can't seem to find it.
__________________
Running OS: Windows XP Professional with SP2
Shadow Rider is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 10:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 270
Send a message via AIM to tylertherobot Send a message via Yahoo to tylertherobot
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shadow Rider
I switched it back to 133MHz with the same 60% effect, this happens only when the game runs at full screen, though it was able to run at 100% with the same settings before. Can someone take a guess at what menu the multiplier setting would be under? because I can't seem to find it.
Really? I sold a computer to someone with an athlon xp 2400+ and it wouldonly recognize as an 1800+, we tried lots of stuff, upping the FSB first of course. Well whenever he would run a game, it would switch back again to the 100 mhz. I eventually had to just buy a new motherboard for it to work correctly - I'd take it back and tell the technicians to give you your money back.
__________________
New PC (Finished May 4, 2004)
Athlon XP 2800+
Soyo Dragon ultra Platinum KT600
1024 MB Kingston Hyper-X
120GB 7200 RPM 8MB
160GB 7200 RPM 2MB
GeForce FX5500 256MB
16x DVD
16x52x32x52 DVD/CDRW Combo
tylertherobot is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 09:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

Serves you right for buying an AMD
cheerios is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 04:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 270
Send a message via AIM to tylertherobot Send a message via Yahoo to tylertherobot
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cheerios
Serves you right for buying an AMD
It's not from it being AMD, baka, same thing could happen with an Intel.
__________________
New PC (Finished May 4, 2004)
Athlon XP 2800+
Soyo Dragon ultra Platinum KT600
1024 MB Kingston Hyper-X
120GB 7200 RPM 8MB
160GB 7200 RPM 2MB
GeForce FX5500 256MB
16x DVD
16x52x32x52 DVD/CDRW Combo
tylertherobot is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 08:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tylertherobot
Really? I sold a computer to someone with an athlon xp 2400+ and it wouldonly recognize as an 1800+, we tried lots of stuff, upping the FSB first of course. Well whenever he would run a game, it would switch back again to the 100 mhz. I eventually had to just buy a new motherboard for it to work correctly - I'd take it back and tell the technicians to give you your money back.
The motherboard wouldn't recognize the CPU? Maybe that's what happening, but I seriously doubt that the "tech" would actually refund the money, he did try to rip me off another $75 by telling me to switch to a Celeron. Oh wait, he actually did do that and only refunded $50 when I switched back to Athlon.

By the way, Alcohol 120% detects my processor as a 1.674GHz


My computer was detecting 1.26GHz when I first posted


Checking again now, its detecting it at 1.67Ghz again.


Here's my question...WTF is going on here??? As for the game, its still running at only 60% as it did when the comp was detecting 1.26.
Shadow Rider is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 09:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

ummm...problem solved? you obviously did something to fix it, oh well as long as its fixed......its not as if your machine was possed by some voodoo magic......
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 09:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
FireFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 608
Default

Quote:
its not as if your machine was possed by some voodoo magic......
i wouldn't doubt it.....
__________________

__________________
FireFox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.