Processor determines RAM amount too? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2004, 09:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default Processor determines RAM amount too?

You know how 32 bit processors can only support a RAM comacity of 4 gigabytes? I have read that 64 bit processors can support up to 16 exabytes.
I noticed this all by 2 to the 32 power is roughly 4 Gigabytes you could say and 2 to the 64 power is 16 exabytes you could say. How can the amount of bits a processor can process in a clock cycle for example determine the total ram you can have in your system?
__________________

NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 11:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

How big is exabytes?
Never heard b4.
__________________

__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 11:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default

Well, 1 exabyte is 1 billion gigabytes. Heres a cool list http://computer.howstuffworks.com/bytes6.htm

Still wondering about my question.... possibly you might know or anyone else?
NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 02:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

wow, who would need an exabyte when we realy don't even need a gig of ram?
compy is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 03:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

dont say that . . . i still remember my dad saying . . . "who will ever need 64mb of video memory?"
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 03:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

lol, alright, i guess we say things like that for the time being is was i really meant. for the time being we dont NEED and exabye. i'm sure we will in the future though, well, i know we will. lol.
compy is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 03:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

that will be usfully if in the future thy can do away with HD's and just use an exabyte of memory in the same kinda interface as a ram dimm, but rewriteable, like a memcard. tha would be hellofa lot faster, and no moving parts would mean u never loose data.
jolancer is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 03:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

ahhhh...technology develping right before your eyes...isn't it great? lol.
compy is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 03:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

yep . . . that would be great . . .

of course then . . . my friend would have no use for his 6 (yes, SIX) hard drives! LOL

totaling more than 1.35TB . . .

WHO NEEDS THAT KIND OF STORAGE?!?!?

i know people who only need 13.5GB!
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 03:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

MY ALAH! that is a lot of hdd space. my friend has 13.whatever gb of just music in his mp3 player...now that's a lot of music.
__________________

compy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.