Processor Compatibility - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2005, 09:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default Processor Compatibility

I have a processor with 2.6 GHz speed. When I installed it on my motherboard whose original processor was 1.7 GHz it only reads the former as 2.0 GHz instead of its real speed which is 2.6 GHz no matter how I adjust speed ratios in the CMOS setup. Does updating its BIOS would solve the problem? Please someone, I need some advice!
__________________

Sprikit is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 09:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

what processor and what motherboard do you have... need more info before can give advice
__________________

__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 09:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Motherboard: ASUS P4V845 Series
Processor: Intel Pentium IV 2.6 GHz
Sprikit is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 11:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Make sure your BIOS is set to your "factory" set speeds for your p4. Your BIOS could of underclocked it. Also make sure your motherboard supports that speed and fsb of your new cpu.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 06:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Sprikit, i have never heard of a mobo that supports from 1.7ghz to 2.6ghz. You really have to becarefull when you install processors on mobo's!

Im pretty positive that mobo supports 533mhz FSB. I would think if it originally supports 1.7ghz, it probably would only support 2.4ghz. I could be wrong, but before you even dare to install a processor, you must be positive about these things.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 07:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 184
Default

My AsusP4B was installed with a 1.7 and only goes up to 2.0 I think. If your board only supports the 2GHz clock speed, it will downgrade any excess speed. Hope this is not the case!
__________________

rememberme is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.