Processor comparison. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2005, 02:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 42
Default Processor comparison.

Im looking at gettin a new laptop this summer, and have it narrowed down between two choices.

one is a p-m 2.0ghz 2mb cache
the other is a amd64 3500+ 512kb cache

How are these compared in both gaming and other programs, considering the rest of the specs are the same. I know that amds have different structure and the clock speed is not really waht counts, but the 512kb cache is kinda making me lean towards the pm. Btw im not lookin for battery life much, so thats not the question. Just wonder how these compare to eachother, and maybe waht p4 equivalent each of them are, because right now im using a p4 3.06 ht and can base it on that..

thanks
__________________

adinu is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 02:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

i'd go with the p-m

the performance between those two will probably be nearly the same

just choose the one with the better gfx card?
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 10:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by diabloII
i'd go with the p-m

the performance between those two will probably be nearly the same

just choose the one with the better gfx card?
The AMD should be noticibily better by quite a bit

Note: In the below its unfair to compare fully notebook parts to Intel EE's, the AMD will peform better when not in a notebook mobo like the Intel's

http://www.gamepc.com/labs/view_cont...id=gmso&page=1

http://www20.tomshardware.com/mobile...212/index.html

Search up gogle for some more benchies
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 03:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Also factor battery life. The PM will only run at maximum when needed otherwise it will run at a lower mhz/ghz to conserve power.

I dont think AMD chips do that yet.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 04:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah AMD chips do that, but that chip is a power hog

AMD wont become the best in laptops till it's turion is released
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.