Which processor is better for a gaming desktop? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2004, 06:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 29
Default Which processor is better for a gaming desktop?

I have question on processors.

Which processor is better for a gaming desktop? An AMD 64 or A Pentium 4? Why are pentiums more expensive than AMD?
__________________

aznmandhs is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 08:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Either, or, depends on who you talk to

I'd say the fx-51, but thats $700, so on a budget probably the 3.2ghz P4 for only $280
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 10:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

Ok merlin you need to check ur listing's the amd fx-51 is about 500 and under now and that regular p4 doesnt mach the performance but all of that isnt that important .........this is the deal if you tryin to play hig end gamming aps go with amd and is cheaper is your running a server or just some wack computer go with P4 and also if you willing to spend overall 300$ more on the top of the line system when gogin with p4
__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 11:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 241
Default Study the subject

http://www.ati.com/na/pages/na_index.html

http://www.soundblaster.com/

Above all it depends on your Windows version.
95 98 and me work fine.FAT32
NTF forget it.

stan-the-man is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 11:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

ill dude 9x is so sucky thats like using windows ME lol and you forgot the s in ntfs and dont do fat32 cause that filling system sucks
__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 11:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

Ha Ha Stan cant spell NTFS!!! lamo and he's OLD!!!!
__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 11:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

If your playing high end games choose AMD .Cause Intel couldnt possible play these same games.You say hey i got me an AMD and they just run away from you.
Tell him about the special fan he has to buy...Im sorry did i say Fan.I ment Fan's.If you put string up on your celling an AMD box can fly around the room with the 8 to 10 fan's you need to keep it cool.Make sure you get the right power supply all that heat needs lots of juice.The special silvery backing crap .All of this and one day youll push the on button and nothing is gonna happen.

Looking at the bench i dont see the huge advantage 64 gives for twice the price and all the other crap yuo gotta buy.

http://www.anandtech.com/cpu/showdoc.html?i=1956&p=17
Deadguy is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 11:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 29
Default Better?

How come a lot of people buy AMD when Intel has faster GHZ?
aznmandhs is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 11:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

A lot of folks dont buy AMD.Intel sells 4 times more .


AMD cant make a faster chip cause it would melt down.Youed need 2 power supplies to get enough juice.
Deadguy is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 11:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 29
Default

so are you saying that AMDS arent good and that Intel is better?
__________________

aznmandhs is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.