processor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2004, 11:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Default processor

at the moment i have an Intel Pentium III 450MHz processor, but i'd like to upgrade it, i just don't know how to go about it. how do i know how fast a processor the mother board can handle?
__________________

Jinty is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 12:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 18
Default

Hi Jinty
You have to find out what make your mobo is (it will be on the board somewhere) and model number. Then look for the manufacturers web site and find the manual for that board. It should tell you what you can do with it.
__________________

Lucky is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 12:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default

Maybe you can overclock it a bit? Well, on second thought, I'd wait to see what porcessor you had.
__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 01:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

more then likely you'll have to get a new mobo. what do you plan on using it for? just word stuff? oh yeah, welcome to the forums here and i hope we'll help you out in the future to come.
compy is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 12:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 23
Default

Replacing your M/B is a god idea if the case is non-propriety (dell, gateway,HP). Other changes would include, power supply, memory, O/S, CPU and possibly the Hard Drive for performace.

1) Any CPU upgrade less than 1,000 Ghz will make no difference in overall speed to cost. Most boards in your class max out at 600 to 800 Mhz or less.

2) PC100 or 133 SDRAM memory is installed in your system. The new boards use DDR. (yes SDRAM boards are still out their, but why go backwords). Upgrading your memory past 256MB with win9x is not cost efficient to gain.

3) 350w power supply minimum.
Intel needs an extra 4 pin connector to board.

4) Win9x is not recommended or the boards I buy.
9x will work but not correctly or efficiently.

5) The faster the drive the faster is data transfer. You can use your existing H/D but it will be a performace hit. Also this drive is at or past its life expectancy.

6) Don't get sucked in by a snake. I have had upgraded systems come thur my shop that I would not have done. Due to age or style of system. Remember that most of your components are at or past their life expectancy.

7) I don't overclock.

If the case is proprietory then build or have a custom system built.
The cost may be more, but up-grades to system become endless.

Hope this helps and not create any confusion.


Bill, Zhills
billzhills is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 07:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Default

thanks all for your replies. so maybe i'd be cheaper just getting a new computer???
Jinty is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 09:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

yeah, that's basicaly what you would be doing. do you need any help witht that kind of stuff? what are you going to use it for?
compy is offline  
Old 08-16-2004, 06:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Default

i use the computer for going on the internet, i want to have things like photoshop and office installed, i have a lot of music, videos and images, but that's about it really. i don't play games on it or anything like that. the one i have now just feels really slow!
Jinty is offline  
Old 08-16-2004, 07:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jinty
i use the computer for going on the internet, i want to have things like photoshop and office installed, i have a lot of music, videos and images, but that's about it really. i don't play games on it or anything like that. the one i have now just feels really slow!

http://www.sisoftware.net/index.html...x86&langx=en&a

Go to this link and download the version for your operating system. it will tell you all about your system and what is upgradeable
derrmc is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 11:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by derrmc
http://www.sisoftware.net/index.html...x86&langx=en&a

Go to this link and download the version for your operating system. it will tell you all about your system and what is upgradeable
ok i've downloaded that, which thing do i run to tell me what i can upgrade?
__________________

Jinty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.