Procesor Clock and other Newbie doubts - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2004, 07:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 44
Cool Procesor Clock and other Newbie doubts

Hey there. I have just finished work on a new PC, but Im not sure that everything is nicely configured

For one thing Im not sure what is the external clock of my procesor (Athlon XP 3000+ [Not 64]). In BIOS I entered 166 mhz, the PC identified the procesor after that... so I guess its all right... but Im not sure if its operating at maxim capacity (Im not talking about overclocking)

Second, is that Im not sure if my motherboard's FSB is operating at 333mhz. The manual says it runs up to 333 mhz, but I dont know how to check that

The pc is working perfectly... so I think I got everything right... but Im not sure if its working at maximum efetiency. I would apreciate any kind of insight

Sparda_X is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 08:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 159

your athlon xp runs fsb at 166MHz or effectively at 333MHz.

AMD Athlon-C Thunderbird @ 1.2 GHz (FSB 133/266MHz)
MSI K7T Turbo Limited Edition (VIA KT133A Chipset)
Visipro 256 MB PC133 SDRAM
PixelView GeForce 2 MX400 Ultra 64MB SDRAM (Samsung 4.5 ns)
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz Soundcard
Maxtor 40 GB ATA133 7200 RPM
Logitech Z-560 THX Certified Speakers
Samsung 753DF 17\" Flat CRT Monitor
Windows XP Pro SP1
WeHa is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 09:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348

i thought the athlon 3000 ran at 400MHz???

If your mobo only goes up to 333Mhz (166) then you wont be able to run your chip at 400Mhz (200)
sithspawn is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 10:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349

there are 2 different 3000+ cpu's. one supports 166, the other 200.

find out witch one u have, if u have the 166(333)fsb cpu then your running at its max already. if u have the 200(400)fsb cpu then change your bios option from 166 to 200, if your bourd supports that.
jolancer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.