Problems W/ Stability - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2004, 08:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

well, i love my raidmax case with 420PSU, and it's a steal for around 50 bucks. the case PSU is the PSU that powers my oc'd chip and oc'd vid card.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...156-137&depa=1
this case is in blue, i have the exact one in black, although i couldn't find black at newegg.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 08:11 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Hey I like that case. It looks uber nice! Will 420W PSU hold up against 1 x 160GB IDE and 250GB SATA and 8x DVD +/- RW and Floppy and CD-Rom and a P4 520 oced to 3.73 GHz?
__________________

Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 08:14 PM   #13 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

well, i have had my chip at 3.6ghz, with a 250 gig hdd IDE, and a overclocked 6800 to ultra specs with pipes unlocked, i also run a DVD-+R/CD-Rw drive and a soundcard, and a floppy, so hmmmm, i think it may very well hold up, but that extra SATA harddrive makes me think twice, and especially how far you want to OC your chip, that's madness!
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 08:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Well, the thing is, I have the right multiplier to push my chip to the future EE w/o getting too much of a temp boost. It was running at 3.73 GHz before I started having these problems. The NB voltage was 1.8V and the VCore voltage was 1.4375. The RAM did not a voltage boost to get stability since I used a 1:1 ratio and it ran at the full 266 (DDR2-533). You tell me cause I'm a fourteen year old who is on Robotix Team. I am an animator, web designer, and beginner programmer. Since this coming January, I will need to keep my computer on 24/7 during the weekends because the Robotix team needs me to host a website for their Robotix Universe database. It will be accessed by teams all over the nation. I need to get set once so I don't have to go through this again until BTX comes out.
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 08:25 PM   #15 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Well, then, may I suggest at least a 500w PSU made by Antec? Very nice stuff, but it'll cost ya, I think they are around 100 bucks and then you will need a case with good airflow to keep the heat down.

actually, i found an ANtec 550w for under 103 bucks.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-910&depa=0
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 08:26 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

****, that thing is expensive. Do you suggest any case/PSU combo under $100?
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 08:33 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 69
Send a message via AIM to GrayT
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Megadeth2
Hey, P. Mantis, I wouldn't be talking cause the Barton runs hot also. I mean, 1.65V just to run a 2.167 GHz processor. That is insane!
Err, well since you didn't really describe too much about your problem when I said that maybe that was your answer, so I figured maybe the overclocking what causing the stability problems.

Sorry man, but I couldn't care less about a pissing contest between how hot yours runs and how hot mine runs. I just thought that maybe you were looking for an answer and there it was. Good luck with your computer.
GrayT is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 08:34 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Sorry Gray T, my fault. No harms.
__________________

Megadeth2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.