Problems with Cd-Rom - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2005, 03:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10
Default Problems with Cd-Rom

OK here's the story: I put a CD-R into the cdrom so I could back up some files. After I was finished backing up I went to eject the cd and a red light came on. I tried restarting it and turning it off and on but it still wouldn't eject and the busy light was constantly on. I was finally able to eject it while the computer was booting up. Sometimes it will give me my cds back and sometimes it won't. What's my problem? I have a "CD-Writer Plus" 4x4x32 with no emergency eject hole

PS I had no trouble reading the cd or accessing it.
__________________

requiemmass is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 04:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119
Default

ive never heard of a drive with no emergency eject hole.. thats odd. it sounds like your drive doesnt like the cds that you're trying to burn on. try new CD-Rs, and even try a different burning program (what are you using?).
__________________

Pilotwings119 is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 04:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

4x4x32 ? Hmmm.. very old. Maybe the CD-R 's are too new or something. You could get a new burner, you can get a really good one for $20 on newegg.
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 05:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 85
Default

Let me take a wild guess that your ROM is made by Smart & Friendly if it is, get rid of it their burners where all junk and they still are. Buy your self a yamaha or sony for 20-70
AT2005 is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 05:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10
Default

I've been using the same brand of CD-Rs for quite awhile and this is the first time I've had troubles. I use Adaptec Easy CD Creator 4 to burn. And yes the burner is old I suppose I need a new one anyway.
requiemmass is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 06:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119
Default

if you have XP, try just using the drag and drop burning. then of course you have to click Write Files to a CD.
__________________

Pilotwings119 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.