Problem w XFX GeForce 6600 GT - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2005, 01:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Default Problem w XFX GeForce 6600 GT


I just assembled a computer for myself and I'm having problems with the
video card. This is the system:

Antech Case and 350W PSU
MSI K8T Neo 2 mboard
Athlon 64 3200 Socket 939
XFX GeForce 6600 GT
2* 512MB PC3200 Crucial RAM
120GB SATA WD Drive
1 DVD Burner/CD Burner
21' CRT at 1024*768.

So I put it all together and installed and updated VIA Chipset/AMD,NVidia
drivers. The problem starts when I run aquamark or 3dmark. The screen goes
blank and my monitor indicates that there's no video output. I restart and everything is fine unless I run the tests again.

Secondly, the performance on NBench is low, about 2400. I dont know what
could cause that. I'd appreciate any advice about every part and driver etc
that I need to tweak/change/update. Its the first computer I've built and
everything could help.


Prakrit Jena

PVJZEN is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 01:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 136

where did u get your video drivers from?

AMD Athlon 3400+ 64-Bit
Gigabyte KN8-Pro MOBO
1.5 GB PC3200 Ultra ValueRam
GeForce 6800 GT 256Mb W/ Arctic Cooling
2 120 Gb Western Digital in Raid 0
250Gb IDE Western Digital HD
500 Watt Ultra X-Connect PS
Raidmax Cobra Case Blue

Laptop: 12\' Apple Powerbook G4
IceyDeath23 is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 02:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 464
Send a message via AIM to Charbo Send a message via Yahoo to Charbo

well that is a very good card so its likely to be the drivers. you might try uninstalling the old ones and getting newones from under the downloads part...
Charbo is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 03:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

well that is a very good card
Not from anything I've read. Across multiple forums I've seen A LOT of people having issues with their XFX 6600GT, so based on what I've read, XFX just produced a really crappy card.

Wouldn't be surprised if this was another case of that.
Nubius is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 03:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 22

yes,xfx did produce a crappy card and im pissed,i just got one and im having the same problem as him
MrHelpful is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 04:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
The Grinch
c0rr0sive's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,688

His power supply seems a little on the weak side....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 05:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
macdawg's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813

did you get it at newegg?

I got an EVGA one, it went bad & I had pinstripes all over my screen. I called EVGA & they said sometimes the memory on the cards go bad and to try an RMA with newegg & if they won't do it, then EVGA will replace it.

So I would RMA it to the store or manufacturer.

BTW, the new one they sent me is perfect and very fast, I won't even bother overclocking this for a couple years.
macdawg is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 10:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Okay XFX are the worst made 6600GT, I had problems with a card and had to RMA it

Your power supply is too weak to properly run the card properly. But you would usually have another symptom, and usually not that.

I would try replacing the power supply first, because even if you have a working card, that power supply is skating on thin ice
Second thing is an RMA
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 11:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388

DJ Chris hit it on the dot.

XFX are horrible video card makers, and from what I've experienced, horrible motherboard manufacturers.

Your powersupply probably is too weak, because you bought it with the case, and thats why when you stess your system in those benchmarks and they look for some extra juice... your PSU can't give it and you crash.

Replace PSU first, and keep a close eye on that card.
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 83

his psu is week i think as the 6600gt needs its own power thing.

diesel2005 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.