Problem using my LCD HDTV Monitor as my Computer Displayer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2004, 08:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 220
Default Problem using my LCD HDTV Monitor as my Computer Displayer

I have a Dell P4 2.66GHz desktop with a crappy video card (GeForce4 MX-420).

I have been trying to use my Panasonic 32" LCD HDTV Monitor as my computer monitor, so I can play any movies on my computer while I can watch them in my 32" LCD HDTV.

Somehow, I managed to get the 32" HDTV displays my desktop using S-Video connection. But the picture show in black n white and in very low quality on the 32" monitor.

I have been trying to play with the resolution in the display property < settings on my computer. But no luck.

If I can't make this work, I would have to get a better video card.

Can any expert shed some light on this? Thanks in advance.
__________________

Discusman is offline  
Old 08-09-2004, 08:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

i would get a good video card with a good resolution for hdtv (1024x768?)

make sure the card has a dvi port
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-10-2004, 07:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Probably the color settings are not correct.
If you're from the US you need to set the color output to NTSC.

If already NTSC, try one of the PAL configuration. (PAL-B etc)

!!!But be careful, I don't know if your videocard or screen can handle it!!!
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.