Problem With One Of The Drivers??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2004, 09:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 10
Default Problem With One Of The Drivers???

hi all, im new around here and would like to ask someone to help me with my problem...
the problem is with one of my drivers (thats what microsoft help page tells me) my comp crashes after 6-12hrs of working and restarts itself...after 1st restart it can not start the windows and reboots itself few times and then when it starts it tells me that windows has recoverd from serious error... as i sais microsoft help page tells me that one of my drivers (printer, modem...) coused this error. how do i foun out which driver coused this???
im running win xp home edition
ps. after it restarts it works fine again for few hours... by the way i tried to do restore point but it wouldnt work, but im pretty sure this is not related as i had this problem (restore) before.
thanks in advance and hope u can solve my problems

CHEERS
__________________

mirke is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 10:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

There are several reasons why a computer will suddenly restart without telling the user why. Most of the time it is a software problem in which case there are several problem fixing strategies you can try. First off you can run a check disk and this will take place when you restart your computer. Go to "My Computer", right-click your main hard drive (the drive that contains C:\WINDOWS) and go to "Properties". When "Properties" has loaded there are 5+ tabs accross the top, click the tab that is labelled "Tools". There are 3 options to chose from once the Tools menu has loaded, these options are "Error-checking", "Defragmentation" and "Backup". Within the "Error-checking" section click "Check Now...". Another window will open, within this window you should check the "Automatically fix file system errors" box before pressing "Start".

After you press "Start" with the "Automatically fix file system errors" checked another window will open informing you that the system must be restarted before any fixes can be performed. Click "Yes", this tells your computer that you have approved of it checking the disk the next time Windows is restarted. Then restart your computer. When the computer is loading it will go to a pale blue screen where it will tell you that the system is scheduled for a disk check, in which case do not press any keys for 10 seconds. This will repair any bad files, folders or registries within the disk.

The above is the very basic way of repairing files or driver problems. If this does not solve the problem (which is more than likely) then you might have to install service packs, reinstall drivers or solve conflicts between hardware. If worste comes to worste you migtht have to install Windows XP again from fresh or run the Repair option from DOS using the original Windows XP CD. This will repair all system files without deleting any personal documents.

Also you could scan for virus' and remove any spyware that might be within your system.
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 10:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 10
Default

kangaroo thanks for ur answer... but would it be crazy/stupid if i say i did all of the above apart from 'Repair option from DOS' thing and it didnt fix the problem.
mirke is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 10:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 10
Default

also my comp is updated all the time

CHEERS
mirke is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 10:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

Ah it can be a bit risky to update ALL the time, only update if you are having problems. Especially with service packs, they are renowned for being extremely unstable when you download in steps - always wait for the finalised FULL version to be released.

When was the last time you installed your OS (Operating System) fresh?
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 10:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

Also that Check Disk option is very helpful, I run it at least once per week just to check to see if all my files are in good condition and not missing certain things
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 11:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 10
Default

sooo u wouldnt recomend updating it from microsoft update site?
will install OS tomorow (havent done it for few mths) how often u shold do it?

CHEERS
mirke is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 11:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

Every 6 months I would recommend - and when your computer is running perfectly, DON'T CHANGE ANYTHING! :P
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 12:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Lemme start off by sayin' ...i don't even remember when i reinstalled my OS last ..... N' i don't have a single problem with it ... N' yes ... i do update the patchs/fixs almost all the time.

Patchs/fixs are released to rectify exixsting problems not create newer ones ..... But then i would hafta agree with Kangaroo on one thing ... n' that would be that beta packs (pror to final release)

Now coming to ur problem ... This is what i suggest

1. Remove all installed PCI cards .. Boot up ur machine ..see if u have any issues.

2. Now put in the card's one at a time ...n' switch on the machine ..again check for problems.

3.U should be able to pin point the device which is cauing the problem by now ... Get the right drivers for it n' reinstall them ..
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 03:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

if you want to reinstall drivers, I'd start with the vid card. They usually cause the strangest and most severe problems. That and MBD chipset drivers (IDE and other bus master drivers). If you DO reinstall windows, and same thing happens I would suggest looking into the power supply.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.