Problem with my mic - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2004, 09:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 12
Default Problem with my mic

It used to work just fine before, but now everytime I plug it into my soundcard I can hear it without even turning it on, as in, I can talk and hear through my speakers immediatley after I plug it in. Before, I would have to go into sound recorder, or a game like Counter-Strike to get it to work.

Any idea what the problem is? I believe I have an SB Audigy II.

Thanks.
__________________

ASliceOfTom is offline  
Old 05-16-2004, 10:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default Re: Problem with my mic

Quote:
Originally posted by ASliceOfTom
It used to work just fine before, but now everytime I plug it into my soundcard I can hear it without even turning it on, as in, I can talk and hear through my speakers immediatley after I plug it in. Before, I would have to go into sound recorder, or a game like Counter-Strike to get it to work.

Any idea what the problem is? I believe I have an SB Audigy II.

Thanks.

Ok, I may not have understood you completely correctly, but if the problem is what I am thinking of, try this.

1. Click Start
2. All Programs
3. Accessories
4. Entertainment
5. Volume control
6. Click "MUTE" under the Mic's volume.

(sorry if this isnt what you meant!)
__________________

Chubz is offline  
Old 05-16-2004, 10:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 12
Default

Well, I want to be able to use it when I play counter-strike or when I wish to record a sound file. If I mute it in these options, will I still be able to do those things?

Sorry if im a little unclear.
ASliceOfTom is offline  
Old 05-16-2004, 11:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 12
Default

Update: I went to mute it, as someone suggested above, and even when muted, if its plugged in I can still hear it through my speakers, even if I just move the mic, the speakers pick up the mic moving and can hear the rustling.
ASliceOfTom is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 03:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

Check if you plugged it to microphone connector (MIC) and not to line in (LINE).
__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 08:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 12
Default

It is plugged into the same one that I had it plugged into last time it worked. Still cannot find whats wrong. When its in that port, it works in soundrecorder etc, but even when im not running soundrecorder or something to record things off of my mic, I can still hear it through the speaker.

its rather annoying.
__________________

ASliceOfTom is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.