problem with my computer.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2004, 02:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to i_heart_hero
Default problem with my computer....

hi people i'm not very good with computers...but i will try my best to explain my 'situation' here....okay, so usually i hibernate my computer, but today i went away and my dad clicked shut off. so when i came home, i just turned it on as usual, but the screen that came up had the default wallpaper, and a lot of things were different *all my bookmarks were missing...i had to dl some things back* but none of my files were missing. but, i finally got everythign back to original and that was that. well i went somewhere else and my dad shut it off again, and this time when i came back, it returned back to the original one, except some things were different. i use objectdock, and that was on the bottom (i usually put it on the top) and the start button and the bottom bar was missing. however, when i exited out of objectdock it came back. does anyone know why this might have happened? thanks for reading...and sorry for the...sucky explanations.
__________________

i_heart_hero is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 09:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

im not sure what u mean by shut off
__________________

__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 09:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

shut off = shut down

I would ask your dad if he deleted your user account or installed some crap.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 05:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to i_heart_hero
Default

yeah shut down haha. no he wouldn't delete anything or install anything....he really never does anything on my computer except turn it off -_-
i_heart_hero is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 05:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

He may not be shutting it off properly, thus your settings may not be saved and it will revert to older settings.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-24-2004, 12:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Id smack my dad.HA
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 12-24-2004, 06:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

hehe or just go ahead and do a proper shutdown sense you no he will turn it off .
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.