Problem with Motherboard - HELP!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2005, 03:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 61
Question Problem with Motherboard - HELP!!!

Building a second pc, so bought a 2.4 GHz Celeron D with 533FSB and an ASUS P4VP-MX with a 533FSB and 256MB DDR PC2100 RAM. Installed all of the parts, flicked the power at the wall and the motherboard's power LED lit up. Turned the PC on, and the processor fan began to spin. However, i could get nothing to come up on the monitor!? Have i made a stupid mistake and does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks a lot
__________________

smiffjunior2005 is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 03:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 35
Default

do you get any bleeps?
__________________

dave-1969 is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 03:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to HeeLiX
Default

Did you happen to hear any beeps, bleeps, whoops, tinkers, blops, or buzzers?

Do you get POST?

Does it show anything?

If you are total and complete a$$ this question is for you, Do you have a video card? Is the monitor connected? Is the CPU in right?
HeeLiX is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 02:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 61
Default Motherboard HELP!

No bleeps, POST or anything, though i think i can hear the hard drive powering in and the CDRW opens and shuts? Checked monitor connection is fine. CPUs only fit one way dont they? with the gold arrow to the arrow?
Thank you all for your replies
smiffjunior2005 is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 02:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Depending on how you install it, CPU's can fit in more than one way, it's easy to break a pin.

It's an Asus board, so try plugging in some headphones to the intergrated sound and see what errors it gives you.

And, remeber, you need to install windows on the computer for it to do anything. Make sure your windows CD is working, and your first boot drive in BIOS is your CD-ROM
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 05:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HeeLiX

If you are total and complete a$$ this question is for you, Is the CPU in right?
haha that reminds me of the time I didn't push down the ziff handle on my socket370 board, managed to get the heatsink on there with it up too. ahhhh I'm a dumb @ss.

If the speaker in connected to the motherboard, and your cpu is install right you should be getting a beep code.

Might try a new psu if your sure the motherboard is good.
Sui is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 07:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

try to seat your rams again. check if anything isnt connected properly.
__________________

phosho510 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.