problem formatting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-18-2003, 06:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 19
Default problem formatting

A friend of mine got a virus on his computer and totally screwed up everything. He just wants to wipe out his HD and start over. When he tries to use the format c: command it just gives him bad command error. He says that he doesn't get a option for a clean install when trying to reinstall Win ME(he won't change). Thanks in advance for the help.
__________________

Moody is offline  
Old 11-18-2003, 06:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

have him delete the partition first using Fdisk and recreate the partition and then format it. That should take care of it...
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 11-18-2003, 06:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 386
Send a message via ICQ to chesman Send a message via Yahoo to chesman
Default

ok, well here is what u want to do, nto reinstall ME becuase their is better out there, ME is considered one of the worse OS's in my opinion, but if it works for you, go with it.


But, did you try a virus scan to get rid of the virus first?
__________________
WinXP Pro
P4 2.5 Ghz/socket 478/400FSB/512L2
512 megs PC800 Rambus
ABIT TH7II-Raid mobo
128MB Nvidia FX 5200 Home Theatre w/TV out and Remote
80 Gig Western Digital/8mb Cache/7200 RPM\'s
20 gig Fujitsu/2mb Cache/5400 RPM\'s
48x40x48/16X Dvd/CD-Burner
chesman is offline  
Old 11-18-2003, 06:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 19
Default

He did not have any virus protection in the first place. He tried to install norton and get rid of it, but I guess that it didn't work.

Thanks and I'm trying to get him away from ME but he's stubborn.
Moody is offline  
Old 11-18-2003, 06:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 386
Send a message via ICQ to chesman Send a message via Yahoo to chesman
Default

try hooking it up to a computer witha working virus scan and protection, and scan it and get rid of it and see if the drive wil work again, if nto, if you atleast get rid of the virus, format the drive there, and tehn put it back in his computer and reinstall an OS
__________________
WinXP Pro
P4 2.5 Ghz/socket 478/400FSB/512L2
512 megs PC800 Rambus
ABIT TH7II-Raid mobo
128MB Nvidia FX 5200 Home Theatre w/TV out and Remote
80 Gig Western Digital/8mb Cache/7200 RPM\'s
20 gig Fujitsu/2mb Cache/5400 RPM\'s
48x40x48/16X Dvd/CD-Burner
chesman is offline  
Old 11-18-2003, 07:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 19
Default

Does going to DOS from the Norton disk actually take you to DOS or just a shell of DOS. I have him hunting down a floppy to make an actual start-up disk. Hopefully that will work. If not I'll go get the Hard drive and and hook it up to my PC.

Thanks a lot
Moody is offline  
Old 11-18-2003, 08:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 386
Send a message via ICQ to chesman Send a message via Yahoo to chesman
Default

not a problem man. glad i could help.

post again if ther is any other questions, i am sure one of us can help you out.

and bout the shell thing in norton, idid not know u could do that in norton ,lol

sorry
__________________

__________________
WinXP Pro
P4 2.5 Ghz/socket 478/400FSB/512L2
512 megs PC800 Rambus
ABIT TH7II-Raid mobo
128MB Nvidia FX 5200 Home Theatre w/TV out and Remote
80 Gig Western Digital/8mb Cache/7200 RPM\'s
20 gig Fujitsu/2mb Cache/5400 RPM\'s
48x40x48/16X Dvd/CD-Burner
chesman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.