Problem Backing Up DVD Disk - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2004, 10:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
Default Problem Backing Up DVD Disk

First question: How can a PC user determine if a blank DVD is recordable?

Second question: Is there anyone there who knows how to check the setup of primary and secondary IDE controllers. Also, how is the bus master controller set up in such a configuration.

My recent add-on DVD-RW drive is an external(USB) drive. Does the fact that this drive is external, USB make it foreign to my system?

Your help will be greatly appreciated.



4ls is offline  
Old 02-16-2004, 06:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

your dvd software will tell you if the dvd has already been written to. if you make a multisession disc you can add files many times.

your usb burner just need to have the drivers for it installed in windows for you to use it. there should have been a driver CD. if you dont have it goto the manufacturer website and download them

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-16-2004, 06:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 7

Hi, EK:

Guess I just don't communicate well by e-mail. I would have gotten a far most complex message than you apparently did.
Hey, I have been downloading for decades. I struggled through the DOS years. . . .I even owned a Commodore 64. . . .

Please don't be offended by those comments. Allow to clarify my problem, which is as I stated: How does a PC user detemine if the blank DVD that was just inserted is a recordable one.

I burned 100s of CDs with Adaptec software. As I recall, each time a blank CD was inserted, the user knew right away what to expect. If the CD was a dud, a message appeared telling the user that the CD could not be formatted.

If a similar situation occurs for you on your system, I envy you.
Also, I have read many posting at several forums that show that not always is there a message after the DVD blank is inserted.

On my AMD Athlon 1.67 GHz, 512 MB RAM system with a Pioneer DVR-106D(This is not a "rocket."), I sometimes get a Windows mutiple-choice pop-up prompting me to choose an action.

To make this message "briefest," please tell me if you know how to test blank DVDs.


4ls is offline  
Old 02-16-2004, 07:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287

Just liek Ek said if it isnt formated your DvD program will offer to format.There are lots of differnt DVD bruners out. Your results may very slightly.

To leave no doubts.There is no special tester for unformated DVD's and you should have no problem's even if it was unformated. As soon as you try to burn . Your program will offer to format first.

But if you must test it. Formated DVD's taste saltier.
Deadguy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.