problem with ATI Radeon 9600! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2004, 07:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to C_olin
Default problem with ATI Radeon 9600!

I've had my ATI Radeon 9600 256mb DDR since x-mas and I love it! But recently I've noticed that noise is being render in OpenGL and DX9 games! It looks as if it is being overly overclocked, but I'm not even overclocking it!

It hasnt been doing this at all before on my Shuttle board with the nForce crap(dont remember exact name).

I have recently reformated my drive, but I dont remember if it was rendering noise before or after the reformat.

I have all of the latest drivers, what can this possibly be?!?
__________________

C_olin is offline  
Old 04-28-2004, 10:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to ccohn2000
Default

Maybe the drivers are too new. I have systems that have to use older drivers, to maintain quality - something else must conflict with the new ones. Try rolling back your drivers to a version that worked for you before.
__________________

ccohn2000 is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 12:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to C_olin
Default

Thanks for the reply!

But I went as far back as 3.10 (the newest when I got the card) and tried everything inbetween, it is the same thing.

I have already contacted ATI and they were good about answering me, but they eventualy just led me to the FAQ to make me happy, but nothing even simalar to what my card is doing is up there, can my card be blowing up on me?!?

I was very fortunate to get this card and there is no possible way I could afford a new one!
C_olin is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 07:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

If its still in the warantee I would ask for an RMA and send it back. Also what kind of power supply do you have?
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 12:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 283
Default

i fins the heatsink and fan on my 9600xt 128mb crap, i added a pci exhaust fan directly underneath it to remove excess heat, this may help your card
__________________
My Spyware Site
www.becroydon.co.uk
Under Construction
becroydon is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 03:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

Check your BIOS settings for the AGP card and if you need to press which ever button it is to load default settings. It sounds like you may have a fan going out. Is the noise comming from the video card itself? It sounds like a hardware issue but need a little more info.
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 06:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 283
Default

the sound is being made by an overheated card, as i said the fan on a 9600 is ****
__________________
My Spyware Site
www.becroydon.co.uk
Under Construction
becroydon is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 07:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to C_olin
Default

There is no actual sound, I was refering to noise being rendered. I understand its easy to misinterperet over the internet

lol

Anyways, it renders as though the card is overclocked (artifacts type thingies) but it's not overclocked! When I play the new CoD mod Revolt it seems to render small white dots and sometimes larger white triangles really fast on the screen, the higher the framerate, the less noise. this also happends in DX9 and DX8 games

?!?!?

It doesn't effect gameplay, and performance is still the same, but its getting annoying!
C_olin is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 08:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

I knew what you meant C_olin. If this keeps up you should contact your video card manufacturer and ask if they have any information on this. Also if your motherboard has a VIA chipset, install the latest VIA Hyperion Drivers, as they have an AGP controller bus driver.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 10:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to C_olin
Default

I have a Shuttleboard AN35 nForce and the latest drivers, and it worked fine before.

but my card is actualy a VisionTek card, but of course its the same as a ATI... but ive had a hard time registering it

man... i really want to get to the bottom of this
__________________

C_olin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.