Problem with AGP 4x - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2003, 01:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 7
Thumbs up <SOLVED>Problem with AGP 4x<SOLVED>

Here is the problem.
I have a L7VMM mobo which supports AGp 4x. I got a ATi Radeon 9000 Pro. It never detects it as 4x always runs on 2x. I looked every where in AWARD BIOS and CMOS. No option to change it to 4x. I even tried the SMARTGART feature bundled with ATi Control Panel.
Is there any other way to solve this issue?
Any help would be appreciated.
Thx in advance.
__________________

Headake is offline  
Old 03-05-2003, 01:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default Re: Problem with AGP 4x

Quote:
Originally posted by Headake
It never detects it as 4x always runs on 4x.

Do you mean 8x by chance?
__________________

__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 03-05-2003, 01:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 7
Default Sorry abt the typo.

I meant it never detects it as 4x and it always runs at 2x.
Headake is offline  
Old 03-05-2003, 01:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Have you tried other tools such as PowerStrip to enfore 4x transfer?

I generally don't find it too much of a deal, as there's practically no performance difference between 2x and 4x - my older VIA Apollo Pro 133A mobo, whenever coupled with a Radeon card, would require AGP 4x to be set manually through the BIOS setup.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 03-05-2003, 01:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Doesn't ATI cards come with that adjustable setting in the display properties, where you can choose 2x, 4x....?
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 03-05-2003, 01:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 7
Default

I have tried PowerStrip and when tried to check the 4x option
It says its not supported by the mobo. I am 100% sure mobo supports 4x.
Headake is offline  
Old 03-05-2003, 01:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 7
Default

Yes it does have it. Its called SMARTGART and when changed to 4x it asks to reboot. After reboot goes back to 2x. (never changes to 4x)
Headake is offline  
Old 03-05-2003, 02:01 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Is there a jumper setting on the video card itself?

Can you give some more system specs?
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 03-05-2003, 02:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 7
Default

I am not sure about the Jumpers on the Vid Card.

System Specs.

AMD 1600 XP+
L7VMM
VIA KM 266
384 RAM
WinXP
ATi Radeon 9000 Pro 128 MB
Headake is offline  
Old 03-05-2003, 02:47 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

OK, well, I went to a few sites to take a closer look at the card and it doesn't have onboard jumpers to change the settings.

I don't know exactly the trouble yet, but I will keep looking. While I am doing that, check a couple things:

1. That you have the latest drivers from ATI.
2. That in SMARTGART, you have it set to 4X, definatly.
3. That you have disabled the onbaord video through BIOS, if applicable.
__________________

__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.