Probably a stupid Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2003, 10:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 134
Default Probably a stupid Question

To everyone else the answer to this question may sound very logical, but I have no idea. Anyways, the question. If I buy a jump drive, (they seem like a neat toy) and I store Excel databases, and other documents on it and leave it connected to my computer at all times; if my computer's hard drive would crash for some reason would this also affect the jump drive. I'm just curious as to what the answer would be. I have a few excel documents I update everyday and as of right now, I'm also updating them to a floppy as a backup, but the floppy is starting to get full. I'm wondering what I should do as this is important info that I don't want to lose and have lost before. Thanx for any imput you guys have.
__________________

__________________
The cure for boredom is curiosity. There is no cure for curiosity. --Ellen Parr

MisticStorm is offline  
Old 09-08-2003, 11:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to aye29 Send a message via Yahoo to aye29
Default

I have a jump drive and every time I plug it in the computer considers it as a seperate drive. Therefore, I dont think a hard dive crash would affect the jump dive.
__________________

aye29 is offline  
Old 09-09-2003, 09:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

The only way a HD failure might affect the jump drive is if your computer was reading from or writing to it at the time of the crash. Even then, chances are the only thing lost would be the file that was currently in use.
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 09-09-2003, 10:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

yeah, i dont think it would be affected, just be careful about viruses, they like to propagate themselves to removeable storage
dethangel is offline  
Old 09-09-2003, 10:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

But keep in mind that while a hard drive faliure (sp?) will not crash your jump-drive, a virus can. If your system sees it as a seperate drive in your OS it's still open to a virus. And with it's intended portability, you can spread them around.

So I suggest making sure you scan that drive for virus' before you remove it and put it on another system.
__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 09-09-2003, 12:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 134
Default

Thanx for all the help guys. I haven't got a jump drive yet, but I do believe I'm going to soon. I don't think I'll leave it in all the time though, just when I'm using it, to be safe.
__________________
The cure for boredom is curiosity. There is no cure for curiosity. --Ellen Parr

MisticStorm is offline  
Old 09-09-2003, 12:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

im going to get one, they are awesome, and the fact that i can put 512mb on a single disk that is portable is just sweet
__________________

dethangel is offline  
Closed Thread

« Amd | modem »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.