Printer timeout - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2004, 02:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6
Default Printer timeout

I have a Brother Lazer printer MFC4500ML.

I am getting the message "A printer timeout error occured"
when I try to print data from the computer. The Computer
is a PC with Windows 98.

The Brother printer does print okay (when you have it
print something such a a help list from the printer itself.

By the way, the printer is online and with paper when
the timeout occurs.

Something is holding up printing from the computer
until the timeout occurs. I have tried changing the
time allotted in Windows but it makes no difference.

The only thing different that I can put my finger on is that
I have not been using this printer much lately. It may be
idle and powered down for days at a time.

I am at a loss to figure it out. Please help.
Evan
__________________

overadio is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 03:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

is it a network printer?
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 03:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

overadio,

Reinstall printer drivers and software , and did you select the correct printer in the print setup prior to a print?

intercodes is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 09:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to Rizinc4
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
is it a network printer?
Aye, make sure its shared... Make sure its not paused also... Go to your Printers folder, and right click on the device your trying to print on... you should see the words "Pause Printing" or something similar, make sure there is no check mark next to this, if there is... click it!
Rizinc4 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.