Primary vs Extended Partitions

Status
Not open for further replies.

GP

Solid State Member
WindowsXP Pro

I am new to disk partitioning and was wondering why I would ever want to create an Extended partition rather than a Primary one. If I just want 2 or 3 extra partitions for things like data, music, video files etc then does it matter what type of partition I choose?

Obviously I don't understand what each do, and what benefits there may be of one over the other.

Also ..... how much Primary partition disk space should I allocate for windows XP Pro system files (Drive C)? Should I use the C drive for applications or use a separate partition to install these?

ok,...i can't exactly tell you what to do,..but i can share what i did with my partitions.

i have an 80 gig HD...separated into 3 partitions....c: is 20gig which has all programs including OS ...d: is 20gig with all my games and e: is 40gigs with all my media and backup.

all partitions are in ntfs format since its more efficient(i think).

i partition my HD for the simple reason that if in case i BSOD'd ..my mp3's and media files are safe in another HD partition and i can just simply reinstall the os and other apps in c:

its more practical than having to back up all my media files to a cd. and if my system crashes ..i don't have to dig up all those back up cd's a copy their contents back the pc.