Prescott vs. Northwood - advice? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2004, 10:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 182
Default Prescott vs. Northwood - advice?

OK, I know this has been around the board many-a-time, but if you have time please read through.

This will not be a gaming machine. It will be used for graphic design and website development - mostly Photoshop, Illustrator and Dreamwaver. I have read that the longer pipeline of the prescott works great if the processor "predicts" correctly (rendering, audio/video, etc), but if it guesses wrong, it's a longer flush out.

See, I really don't understand the "predicting" thing. Does anyone know if Illustrator, Photoshop and Dreamweaver are predictable programs, or will the longer pipeline hurt in my case? I know the prescott is really going to gain the edge at 4 ghz or so, but the specs now are pretty impressive.

For the AMD fans... I have extensively considered the 64 3000+, but really don't see the need until the apps and standard OS is 64-bit. I'm planning to keep the upcoming P4 build for about 2 yrs, then go 64 bit.

So for now... Prescott or Northwood for graphic design?

Sorry to be so wordy. I'm hoping to get more than just a "Northwood (or Prescott) is better" response, rather something a little tailored to my needs. For the record, the system so far is:
- 1 GB Kingston Value-Ram
- Antec Performance Plus w/ 430w PSU
- Sapphire Radeon 9000 Pro (I know...)

Thanks in advance guys!

Richard
__________________

regeisle is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 11:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

If I am not mistaken the prescott is better for that stuff because of its longer pipeline.
__________________

__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 02:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024
Default

Socket 915 for Prescott is round the corner. If possible wait and look out for that.
__________________
www.tech-station.net

P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
16x DVD ROM
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.