Prescott vs. Northwood - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2004, 05:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Prescott is supposed to hit its stride at around and above 4ghz
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 06:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 149
Default

Know I've read that Intel 's making a new Socket type for its Prescotts that is supposed to come out by summer's end.
__________________

Northbridge is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 06:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Northbridge
Know I've read that Intel 's making a new Socket type for its Prescotts that is supposed to come out by summer's end.
I have also read something about a Pentium 5. Don't know if that's what the prescott is or not... If so then I guess they decided not to call it a P5...
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 08:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 149
Default

Well it seemed that before the prescott came out there was a lot of rumors going around that it was the P5. Many , I guess thought it was going to be called a P5. Maybe they'll name it a Pentium5 when its socket type is changed.
Northbridge is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 09:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 121
Default

how do you tell it you got a northwood or prescot. and what are the extreme editions, northwood or perscott.
__________________
Dell XPS Gen 2
[Gallatin] Northwood P4 Extreme Edition 3.2 @3.46 --->(CPUCOOL)
PC3200 1.5GB
ATI 9800XT
Sound Blaster Audigy 2
Maxtor 120gb IDE
Hitachi 250gb SATA
Windows XP PRO SP2
Teac DVD+RW
Samsung CD-R/RW

3DMark01 20772
3DMark03 7190
Dell XPS is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 09:27 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 149
Default

All P4 specifications have a letter after the clock speed if its an A its a northwood with an 533MHz FSB, if its a C then its a northwood with an 800MHz FSB, and if its an E then its a prescott with an 800MHz FSB(prescott only has one letter designation because its only made with an 800MHz FSB). The current P4 EE is a northwood.
Northbridge is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 09:59 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 149
Default

Great, with all these fast paced processor developments you can't ever milk a system for what its worth by upgrading the processors. These may be rumors,but I read the prescott will top out at 5.2GHz and will eventually be on a 775 pin socket.After that a new core will come out called Tejas and will still be based on 90nm. Tejas will top out at 9.2GHz and may contain some 64 bit instructions.Finally another core will come called Nehalem it may yet achieve 10GHz+.
Northbridge is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 10:03 PM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Northbridge
All P4 specifications have a letter after the clock speed if its an A its a northwood with an 533MHz FSB, if its a C then its a northwood with an 800MHz FSB, and if its an E then its a prescott with an 800MHz FSB(prescott only has one letter designation because its only made with an 800MHz FSB). The current P4 EE is a northwood.
I only knew that kind of info for the 133mhz p3. As that is the only p3 I bought. My dual system runs two 1.0Ghz EB chips. Which means they have a rated 133mhz bus. Haven't bothered with the p4's. Probably wont either.. If anything I will go Xeon later on.. I will definitely stick to dual systems, maybe even go to quad later on. SMP is just too impressive.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 10:09 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 149
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ChaosBlizzard
I only knew that kind of info for the 133mhz p3. As that is the only p3 I bought. My dual system runs two 1.0Ghz EB chips. Which means they have a rated 133mhz bus. Haven't bothered with the p4's. Probably wont either.. If anything I will go Xeon later on.. I will definitely stick to dual systems, maybe even go to quad later on. SMP is just too impressive.
Do they make quad processor ATX boards?
Northbridge is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 10:30 PM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Northbridge
Do they make quad processor ATX boards?
Nope, not that I know of. They use something called EX-ATX, or extended ATX.
__________________

ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.