Is a Prescott core Pentium 4 one of the best? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2004, 11:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 332
Send a message via ICQ to gizmo90
Question Is a Prescott core Pentium 4 one of the best?

I want to buy a Prescott P4. Is it any good? I think the Northwood core is the best.......or is it....it betr be....its $900 hahahahaha...lol Thanx
__________________

__________________
Want a Gmail invitation?? Email me at gizmo90@gmail.com

Funny or Stupid Videos...u choose!
gizmo90 is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 11:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

The AMD fx-53 is one of the best
But I think the P4 Prescott is pretty good, although it runs very hot
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 01:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

some ppl dont like the Prescott, because it run's hot... but that doesnt afect anyone but the ppl who overclock everything thy buy.

only the brand new Northwoods have a 2mb cache, the older ones only had a 512kb cache.. but the older prescotts have a 1mb cache, so if i were to choose, id get the prescott cause i cant aford the new Northwood.
jolancer is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 07:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

AMD currently is the best, but if you wanna stick to Intel thats perfectly fine aswell

Depends on what you can afford really I wouldn't personally get any Prescott unless it is 3.6 or faster The Northwood core is much faster then the Prescott until they both hit 3.4, when they even up and then Northwood line is stopped
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 08:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

I heard the 775 heat-output is quite normal compared to the older 478 Prescott. I guess the extra pins split the power evenly, eh?
WQ87 is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 08:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I personally prefer AMD, the Athlon 64's are more powerful and process 64-bit
although it's up to you whether you get a P4 or not
if you are getting anything 2.8GHZ or below, don't get Prescott. if you're getting 3GHZ or higher, then yes get a Prescott

the Northwoods perform better then the Prescotts at lower frequencies
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 09:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

I'M AMD ALL THE WAY FOR ME. Give me AMD 64-FX anyday.
(Ignor that printer server specs there, it's not like I paid money for that one)
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 09:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

I overclock my prescott 3.2 chip, not bad temps even with a stock heatsink and fan. It's been up to 3.4ghz even, with 45C temps.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 09:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I think the best performing CPU is not even the FX-57, but the Opteron 850 with quad processing
it does sorta the same thing as Hyperthereading but it makes it look like 4 processors, so a dual opteron 850 will have 2 physical processors, but 8 virtual processors
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 09:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

With my past experience with AMD, I am sticking with Intel for now. I had an XP 2400, 266 FSB, 1.99ghz. The chip was utter poo.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.