presario r3000 dead screen - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2005, 11:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11
Default presario r3000 dead screen

I have had my Compaq Presario r3000 since this past August, 2004. It's screen has just recently gone very very dim. What i mean is that if i take a desk lamp say, and put it up next to the screen, i can sort of see what is on the screen, but otherwise nogo. Also, if i press the little kill button that hibernates the comp when the lid is closed, it flashes to regular colors for a millisecond, but then back. When i turn off the computer and the screen goes off, it goes off from outside to the center. Any ideas what this is? i'm planning on calling support and i want an idea of what might be the problem. thank you in advance very much,

Andrew.
__________________

pyroguy_3 is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 11:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

there should be a brightness setting on it

there should be an Fn key which you hold down, so you can press keys with an optional function (usually in blue)

2 of the keys should have brightness settings, try and look for them
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 12:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11
Default

I've tried this, no matter how many times i push it down, it is still dead. I also went into the control panel and changed my monitor settings so that it would emphasize whites more, but nothing again. I might also add that somebody who was in the room with me when i started the laptop up said they heard a buzzing/frying sound which "sounded like a short circuit", they said. so i'm looking forward to a lengthy discussion with tech support in India tomorow!
pyroguy_3 is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 12:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I would say that it is probbably not the monitor itself, but possibly a capacitor on the video card or something
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.