Preorder your Venice! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2005, 03:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default Preorder your Venice!

OEM-
http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...gory_Code=NA_2
http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...gory_Code=NA_2
http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...gory_Code=NA_2
http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...gory_Code=NA_2
http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...gory_Code=NA_2
http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...gory_Code=NA_2

Retail (Boxed)-
http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...gory_Code=NA_2
http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...gory_Code=NA_2
http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...gory_Code=NA_2
http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...gory_Code=NA_2
http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...gory_Code=NA_2

Pricing (OEM/Boxed):

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ 512K 90nm Rev. E $149/$164
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 512K 90nm Rev. E $199/$209
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 512K 90nm Rev. E $272/$287
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ 1MB 90nm Rev. E $334/$344
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ 512K 90nm Rev. E $379/$389
AMD Athlon 64 4000+ 1MB 90nm Rev. E $549/$540

They all are all very cheap and have free shipping. The OEM 3800+/4000+ will ship April 22nd, while the boxed 3800+/4000+ will ship May 2nd. The OEM 3000+ to 3700+ will ship May 6th, while the boxed versions will ship May 20th.

damn it..if only i hadn't already had my winchester, i'd get a venice
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 03:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

It doesn't matter that much for you to consider switching it, I mean there isn't much difference between winchester and venice. Look at the benchmarks and you will see they are insanely close. Only for super-crazy overclockers is the venice really a whole bunch better.
Of course if you were buying a new processor it would make more sense to consider it. But an upgrade from a winchester won't yield much.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 04:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Sell the winchester on ebay then......I'm still waiting to see when/if they release the DFI Nforce3 board, then I'll probably look into getting a 3000+ or 3200+ venice....not to bad as far as price goes, but I want to see newegg carry it dang it, or zipzoomfly.....wonder how much the san diego cores will be though
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 04:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

is venice the dual-core a64's? s939 right? and what's san diego then?

thanks
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 04:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

No they aren't the dual cores. That's toledo.

Venice = Winchester but with better architecture and SSE3 instructions

San Diego = venice but with 1mb L2 cache instead of 512kb
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 04:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

The 4000+ listed up there is a San Diego Nubius.

Venice is quite tempting, I still wanna see how the Toledo overclocks though. AMD is also doing a pretty good of keeping their prices down, which I like.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 04:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

damnit! i got my 3200 winchester a month ago and now this!!! damn, technology is moving 2 fast.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 04:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Sell the winchester on ebay then......I'm still waiting to see when/if they release the DFI Nforce3 board, then I'll probably look into getting a 3000+ or 3200+ venice....not to bad as far as price goes, but I want to see newegg carry it dang it, or zipzoomfly.....wonder how much the san diego cores will be though
monarch doesn't charge us californians tax though
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 05:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

hmm good point diablo......tax is a beeotch for $200+ items....course I guess I shouldn't complain since europe and australia are ridiculously worse;

Gaara - Yeah I saw that, but theres no way I'll ever be getting a 4000+ lol, it's 3000+ or 3200+ for me. Dual core desktops won't be around for quite a few months though so theres really no point in worrying about it's overclocking potential quite yet IMO, not only that, but they will no doubt carry a hefty price tag
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 08:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

What is with the processor-level virus protection? I don't know how it handles it, but I would rather have my processor exectue anythign that won't damage it than waste time trying to determine if soemthing is displaying characteristics of a virus.
__________________

__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.