powersupply - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2004, 02:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 39
Default powersupply

i just ordered a new case and it includes an antec 350watt power supply. A good psu, to be sure. However, I am a little worried about whether it will be sufficient.
planning on running the following:
xp2600+
512mb RAM
9800pro
2x 120mm case fans
dvdrw
dvdrom
sblive 5.1

i am seriously considering a 420watt psu from thermaltake.
what does everyone think? will 350 handle it, or should i buy the 420watt?

thanks!
jeff oldson
__________________

maddogsdhs is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 02:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

the wattage is fine. Make sure(it will say on the side of the PSU) that it supports at least 15A on the +12v rail. If so then it will definately be more than okay.
__________________

sithspawn is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 03:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 39
Default

ok, its 16..... so running the power hungry 9800pro will be fine?

thanks for your help,
jeff
maddogsdhs is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 03:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

Yeah it will be fine. If you add up all your specs bar the video card, it comes to a total of like 271 watts. This leaves 80 for your vid card (not likely) and plus your vid card runs on the +3.3v rail (which offers more than enough current, even on budget PSU).

However if you have the money to blow and want to be 500% safe, then get the other PSU. It isnt necessary thou.
sithspawn is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 07:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

Better to get an addition PSU cosz your need a lots of power for your AGP card n you have plenty of hardwares attached.
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 11:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024
Default

Get a higher wattage PSU if u plan to overclock.
__________________

__________________
www.tech-station.net

P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
16x DVD ROM
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.