powering a 6*00gt - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2005, 02:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Question powering a 6*00gt

would i be able to power a 6600gt or a 6800gt off a dell 305watt psu?

specs:

p4 530 3.00Ghz HT
dell mobo
audigy 2 zs
2x DVD drive
1x floppy
250Gb maxtor harddrive
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 02:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 32
Default

Most of the 6600 GTs recommend a 350-watt ps, and 6800 GTs want a 500 watt supply. So I wouldn't recommend either unless the manufacturer says a 300 watt ps is okay.
__________________

MasterShazbot is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 02:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

6600gt, yes, for quite a while. 6800gt, I will be doubtful, if the PSU will last very long at all, even though it will be under the watts on here, the PSU won't be as good quality as a good PSU, like Antec, thermaltake or OCZ.

http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_sup....php?cmd=INTEL
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 02:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

Nope I would say get at least a 450psu. I can guarntee a 305 won't run it.
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 02:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MasterShazbot
Most of the 6600 GTs recommend a 350-watt ps, and 6800 GTs want a 500 watt supply. So I wouldn't recommend either unless the manufacturer says a 300 watt ps is okay.
6800GT and 6600GT are equally as power hungry.

Your dell power supply will not provide enough power. In fact these cards probolly wotn even fit inside your hell.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 02:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

really? do you think I should get a new ps for a 6800 mine is 450w
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 02:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 32
Default

@ JD

I'd crank it up to 500 watts, it won't hurt anything.
MasterShazbot is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 02:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
In fact these cards probolly wotn even fit inside your hell.
wat is that supposed to mean?
joshd is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 02:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

If you got a new powersupply, you will have to check to see if it has the right pin layout, as knowing DELL, they would of been HELL and swapped a few pins around.

You will not need 500watts, I run a 6800 off of a 330watt PSU, with no problems. The only problem is that it will put alot of load on the PSU, and decrease its life.


edit: The new cards are big, about 25cm as a rough guide.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 02:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

why wouldnt they fit?
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.