Power went out, now windows is dead - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2005, 11:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Default Power went out, now windows is dead

I was just watching a movie on my comp and bam, the power goes out to my house. Now when I start the comp back up windows kinda loads up with the bar that goes across, then goes to a black screen and thats it. No welcome screen, nothing.

So I restart my comp again and it gives me the choices of safe mode and so on. I choose the last known working config. and windows starts up normally.

My system restore in windows just crashes when I bring it up. So what to do?
__________________

bandit390 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 11:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Did you have a surge strip protecting your computer?
__________________

__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 11:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Yes and it was not a thunderstorm.
bandit390 is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 12:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

put in the XP CD on boot, press enter to go and install XP, but after agreeing to the terms and conditions, press 'r' to do a repair instead of reinstall

then the install will only reinstall the base of Windows, your files and usernames and such will still be there
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 06:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

well, you said it starts up normally now the only thing corrupted is the system restore??? If thats the case, just disable system restore (it'll delete all old restore points) and then re-enable it.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.