Power supply vs. graphic card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2005, 02:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
Arrow Power supply vs. graphic card

sup guys,
ok so i have a 250 watt power supply. (ATX-250-12E) I want to buy a chaintech geforce 6600 256MB. It requires minimum 300 W power supply. Any suggestions in regards to 1. video cards that dont need that much power and are def worth buying....2. good power supplies that are def worth buying. Thanks

ps. i have a geforce fx5200 128MB, that runs on 250watt power supply
__________________

lostmanTech is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 02:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 32
Default

I got a 500 watt supply from Ebay for $26.95.

Buy a new power supply, and if you ever get the cash, upgrade to a 16-pixel pipeline card for a nice improvment (look at BF2files's benchmarks of the BF2 demo, the 6800 GT was rockin', and the 6600 GT did pretty good.)
__________________

MasterShazbot is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 02:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Thanks man

How picky are motherboards to power supplies? What do you look for besides watts?
lostmanTech is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 02:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 32
Default

Uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh . . .

I don't think any mobos have problems with powersupplies. There's always the fact you have to be sure your case can fit a power supply (I.E. it can't smack into any of your mobos parts.)

My 500 watt supply has two fans. I quess that keeps it quiet (Hard to hear anything with my 5900 whirling away, but headphones take care of the noise problem very quickly )
so I would keep an eye out for multiple fans. I would also make sure the ps has enough cables for your system.

If your going to get PCIe in the future, which is becoming a very good idea, than your video card (PCIe16x) will be able to power its fan through the PCI slot, so you won't need as many cables in a PCIe system.
MasterShazbot is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 02:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Make sure you get a good brand PSU, and get a 400W or more so you have room for future upgrades. You should never load a PSU to 100% of it's rated power.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 02:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Most prebuilt computer's have propertiary power supply's meaning plugging in a normal power supply kills the motherboard

A cheap 200$ combo would be a eVGA 6600GT and a Thermaltake TT-420AD
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 03:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
Default

so DJ chris, your saying i cant just go out and buy another PSU because it could burn out my mobo right?

so then whats so special with the Thermaltake TT-420AD if i run that risk?
lostmanTech is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 03:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

He recommended the Thermaltake because they are a very good company and it is a very good PSU for the price.

Look at it this way... Your PSU is the ONLY component in your computer that is directly connected to everything else. Other things are connected to each other, but indirectly. If you have a cheap psu, and it goes, there is a very good chance that it will take your whole computer with it. My friend got a cheap one off of Ebay for $50, plugged it into his 6600GT, and it immediately fried. IMMIDIATELY! Do NOT cheap out on the PSU, it is the one thign that you never want to cheap out on.

Listen to Chris, he is right. What kind of computer do you have?
Him is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 04:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

i just bought my 650watt psu, lol the damn fan in it is the loudest fan in my system
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 04:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
Default

i have an emachine....regretfully.....<sigh>......but it is one of their highend systems.

I def agree with you that if I buy a new PSU....its not gunna be crap, i just dont know what to look for. i.e. brands, and whats the best way to tell it wont fry my computer

thanks guys this helps me alot
__________________

lostmanTech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.