power supply question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2006, 05:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default power supply question

after looking thru my PC, i noticed that my power supply was built for Pentium 4 and the wattage was 400W.

Is that good? I think the minimum on new PC's is 350W...

is a 400W power supply going to last me 3-4 years?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 06:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

If you're not upgrading, it'll last the life of the power supply... It depends on what you plan on doing with it.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 08:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Greece > Athens
Posts: 50
Default

the wattage doesn't have to do with the life-time of your
power supply.
The first thing you have to consider is if the 400W of your PSU
are enough for your system. You can easily calculate the wattage
needs of your system by using calculators like the following one:

http://www.dewassoc.com/systems/comp...upply_calc.htm

If the result is very near to 400W, you better get a bigger PSU
like 420W or 450W...

The second thing (and for some people the most important) is the
brand of your PSU.

For more information about PSUs you can go here:

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=77323
__________________
sine Diabolo,nullus Dominus...

CPU: P4@3.2GHz
RAM: SuperTalent 1Gb kit (2x512) @ 800FSB
MOB: Asus P5B Deluxe
VGA: Albatron 7600GS
HDD: SATA W/D 40Gb / SATA W/D 120Gb
P/S: Enermax 460W
StorM_GmA is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 08:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

thanks for the link storm_gma, turns out my system only needs 225 watts, so im set for awhile...

i dont play any games, except for a few online ones, because of my video chipset.

My PSU is made by MSI.
talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.