power supply question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2004, 02:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2
Default power supply question

Ok so i recently bought a new case for the computer that i am building. i put in the motherboard/prcoessor (AMD) and all that correctly. when i tried to turn on the computer, it was getting no power. i first assumed that i got a bad power supply and it was DOA. but then i noticed that there was a sticker on the power supply that said " supports p4". could it be because im using an AMD motherboard it isant working properly? iv never heard of that but i thought i would ask anyway

Thanks
__________________

Almanac is offline  
Old 09-19-2004, 04:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Yeah, that would be my best guess. If something says on it what it is compatible with it, then that. I'd say that your board gets power for like one miniscule bit of a second, then switches off, cause it knows that it ain't working with a p4. So if all other suggestions posted fail. Then that is probably what is wrong and you'll need a new psu.
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Old 09-19-2004, 05:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2
Default

Hmm. Yeah i suppose that must be the problem. well i think im just gunna upgrade to a 420w now anyway if that is the case.
Almanac is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 06:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

the power supply should work make sure you have everything connected properly
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 06:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

nah the P4 doesn't necessarily mean the Pentium 4 processor...it means that there's a little 4pin squared connector that you gotta plug into your motherboard that powers your CPU. Believe that is called your P4 Connector. There are two cables that are required for motherboard power. The big thickass 20pin cable and a smaller 4pin cable like I said, except the 4pins isn't in a straight line like your normal power cable...it's 2 on top and 2 on bottom to form a nice square....see if your motherboard has that connector anywhere...usually right around the processor for obvious reasons.

What kind of PSU and Motherboard?
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.