Power supply question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2009, 09:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 122
Send a message via AIM to s37d
Default Power supply question

Regarding power supplies, are they always drawing full current? For instance, if I'm using a 700 watt power supply, and I only have the motherboard, 1 hard drive, and 1 dvd-rom hooked up, is it still using the full 700 watts of power?
__________________

s37d is offline  
Old 02-25-2009, 09:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default Re: Power supply question

Nope,It only draws what it needs to power the components
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 02-25-2009, 10:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 122
Send a message via AIM to s37d
Default Re: Power supply question

Ok thx. I was concerned about energy consumption since computers can really up the energy bill if on for long times. I do all I can to conserve power like have the hard drives not in use(storage) shut off after 15 min.
s37d is offline  
Old 02-25-2009, 06:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Power supply question

PSUs fluctuate depending on the needs of the system. Your PSU should always have some headroom to allow for sudden changes of output needed by the psu by the rest of the system, as in hardcore gaming for example.

But as Shum said, you wont be at full-bore all the time.

*Interesting sidenote: Even with the PC off, there will always be a voltage present to the motherboard, (+5 volts), which is used to keep the system at the ready so when you push in the front case switch, the system will start up. A signal is sent to the CPU which tells the PSU to start everything up. But that small constant voltage in itself wont run up your light bill. Your coffee pot or waffle maker uses tons more electricity than your PC.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
oldskool is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help building a budgeted gaming system (amateur) kenny536 System Upgrades 32 03-11-2009 01:25 PM
Problem possible power supply? KevinH Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 17 02-14-2009 12:12 AM
Hello, Power Supply question taruman121 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-20-2008 07:33 PM
I want a new video card. Silverfury New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-09-2008 01:05 AM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 02:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.