power supply problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2004, 10:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Default power supply problems

hi all i am new to this forum was wanting some help. wel i just replaced the power supply in my cpu and it keeps rebooting itself. i was wondering what could be causing this sort of a problem. the first few day i had it did not have anything worng than it starting doing this reboot things in the last few days now. i also believe i have the correct one for it too. i know i have a older system whick i am running a p3 in it now. the supply i got for it is a Antec Solution Series SL350 350W Power Supply. will this one work in it all right or not. any help would be greatly appreachated on this. thanks
__________________

johnyyboy is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 06:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

try getting a working psu off a friend and testing it, itll tell u if its actually the PSU or motherboard. it could be either
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 09:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

perhaps ur psu's rails are not sufficient enough to run your system... like waynejkruse10 said try getting ur hand on another psu and trying to see if it will work in ur system
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 07:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

go back over the connections and make sure they are fully seated
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 08:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 29
Default

Not a powerful enough PSU?
Kurupt is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 03:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

how about complete comp specs.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 11:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Default

sorry for not getting back to this sooner. well i ended up pulling the battery out of the mb and putting it back in. i am plaining on gettnig a new one next trip to the store. it seams to be working for. thanks for all the help.
__________________

johnyyboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.