Power Supply Problems???/ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2004, 04:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
Default Power Supply Problems???/

I'm having problems putting together my new setup and wondering if any of you could suggest where the problem lies.

I have a new A-Bit KT7A m'borad, 256mb RAM, and an Athlon XP 1800 processer with heatsink and fan. I also have an old graphics card and HDD that I know are working correctly.

At the moment I've added the m'board to the case and connected up the memory, processer, heatsink and fan. I've added my old graphics card to a PCI slot and my old HDD. To start with I connceted this all up with the new 350w power supply which when turned on only ran for about 10 seconds before cutting out. To eliminate the possability that the power supply may be defective I tried my old 230w power supply and this is fine, it runs continuously, however when I plugged this into the monitor - nothing at all.

Just wondering if you have any suggestions as to where the problem lies? Is the 230w power suply not powerful enough just to boot up CMOS? I'm wondering if I should go today and but a new 350w power supply to see if
this is the cause though I'd value your opinion first.

matt1biz is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 04:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii

so it runs fine with the 230w, but not with the 350? my guess would be the psu...

Demalii is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 04:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124

well sense your using an AGP slot mobo did you disable or change your bios to PCI card ? Actually youd be better off to borow or by a Nvidia 64 mb VC and get it running the way the board was intended ."Then if you must" add in the PCI card then through the proper steps. You can pick up a little tester at CompUsa or Best buy to test your PS
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 05:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2

With the 230w PSU power is going through the board, i.e. the fans are spinning, but I'm not getting anything else, nothing on the monitor at all and the HDD isn't spinning.

Might this be because there's not enough power in the 230w to run all of this?

The 350w just ran for like 10 seconds before cutting out completely, I'm guessing this is faulty, but because I can't get the 230w to work properly I'm not 100% sure.
matt1biz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.