Power supply not giving out a breeze? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2005, 01:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 95
Default Power supply not giving out a breeze?

I installed a new coolmax 350w power supply and when I put my hand in the back where they have the air vents I dont feel any air going in or out. Is that normal?
__________________

quiq is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 01:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Is it a fanless power supply????? But if It has a fan just take a flashlight to make sure the fan is at least spinning at a fast rate.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 02:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

I searched for you power supply it is a Fanless version , so there shouldnt be any air going out.
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 05:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 95
Default

Its the coolmax cx350 with a 120mm extra big fan. Is it because the fan is bigger and it doesnt spin as fast? I dont have a flashlight but I can hear it (which must be the fan moving right?). I was just wondering b/c with my old power supply I could feel wind blowing out of it
quiq is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 05:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

This one? If so, that has a 120mm INTAKE fan, meaning it is drawing air from the inside of the case. As you can see, the exhaust, or part which is facing out of the case, is a fanless design, in order to reduce noise.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 06:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 95
Default

Oh ok thats what is meant by fanless. I found a switch that will turn it on to high-speed mode and when I do that I can faintly feel some air coming out but I guess thats irrelevant. Thanks
quiq is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 09:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Default

the reason u cant feel the air is because the two fans are intake.

check it man.
__________________

ChipX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.