Power Supply help, 380 enough? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2004, 10:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to Mitsu3kGTVR4
Default Power Supply help, 380 enough?

I'm finally building my computer, and I'm not sure if the 380 watt power supply that comes in the Antec Sonata is enough for what I have, but I like it's silence. If it isn't enough what could happen if I used it?

What would you recommend for:

MSI K8N Neo 2 Platinum
AMD Athlon 64 3500
3 hard drives
16x dvd burner
52x cd rom
108 mbps wireless network card
ati 9600 video card
1 gb ballistix

I think that's it for now...
__________________

Mitsu3kGTVR4 is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 11:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

your computer could run on a 380Watt PSU with those, but if you plan on adding other stuff it won't run that good, I mean a 380 isn't good enough for the future hardware, you've got a good computer there. If the computer doesn't have enough power, it will just freeze. The DVD RW drains a lot of power too. A good power supply would be some 450Watt ThermalTake. Look on newegg, they're like 50 bucks or so with little or no shipping.
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 11:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

oh... and what graphic card do you have? SE, PRO, XT? because those need a lot of juice too, especially if you are gonna play games.
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 11:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

I don't think his system will need anywhere near that amount of power.. For my system I have pretty much two of everything. Including processors, hard drives, and so on.

My APC unit report's that the system is drawing 216 Watt's, and that's with the monitor..
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 12:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to Mitsu3kGTVR4
Default

hhhmmm.... so I guess I'll try it for now and if the computer starts freezing I will upgrade. As long as the 380 won't damage anything I'll try it out. Thanks, oh yeah it's a 9600 pro
Mitsu3kGTVR4 is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 12:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

No, it will not damage anything. The system only pulls as much power as it needs from the PSU.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 02:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

what you should watch for is probs mainly with your video output, if the monitor stops receiving signal sometimes at boot up, etc. i don't know how many fans you have or are planning to get but believe it or not that was what was a real strain on my PSU and ended up having to get a new one. i got a aspire 500 for like $60 and no more probs.

its the rails of amps that you have to look at in a PSU. good amp rails=good PSU, not necessarily the watts.
jaksback is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 03:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

I think you're cutting it REALLY close. I would definately suggest something in the 450-500 range just to be safe and comfy.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

« X800 probs | Tv-pc »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.