Power Supply compatiablity - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2005, 03:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8
Default Power Supply compatiablity

I'm building my first computer and have a question regarding a power supply for my Athlon 64 3000+ CPU and corresponding gigabyte GA-K8NSC motherboard. Are all ATX motherboards compatiable with all power supplies as the case I am thinking of buying comes with a power supply description as follows: P3, P4 ATX 400W Max Will this be a problem?
__________________

Doofmaster924 is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 03:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You will most likely want a better power supply than what comes with the case.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 03:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

That will work just fine, as long as they are both ATX
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 03:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Not all ATX PSU's are compatible, there is 20 and 24 pin PSU's. (24pin PSU's are for PCIE motherboards, and are called ATX2.0.)

Those 2 should be compatible, but before you get that PSU, you should know that generic PSU's are terrible. Their reliablity is not great, as they die early, and when they die, they could even take out your whole system. They also fluctuate alot, as the voltage on the lines, can go dangerously over or under, and cause restarts. That 400w is not measured in a real world enviroment, and is a peak, so it could be 250watts sustained, and for a split second hit that 400watts, and they call it 400 watts.

Post all your system specs before buying BTW. and we can make recomendations.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.