Power Supply - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2003, 06:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4
Default Power Supply

I recently put a new computer together and when i started it up the power supply fried after about 5-10 seconds. I have an Athlon XP 2600+, 512 DDR 2700 ram, 80gb HD 7200rpm, geforce fx 5200 256 mb, and the power supply was 400w, made by PowerUp. It was a cheap power supply..$25. I was wondering if I could just replace the power supply or is the entire computer fried? ive heard accounts of both happening and i was wondering if there is any way to easily tell. All i know is that the PS smells burnt and the PC smells fine. I figured out the wattage of my PC and it wopuld have been around 327 watts and the PS was 400w. I do know however that the fan setting on the PS was at low..and i maybe that could have had something to do with it. Hopefully i can jsut get a new PS.
__________________

Nathino is offline  
Old 12-27-2003, 06:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

Only thing to do is replace with a reputable power supply and see what happens. Supply supplies are known to take out other components with them when they go south.
__________________

__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 03:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 32
Default

About a year ago i built a PC and the firs time i turned on the computer the power supply went down. nothing happened to any other parts that were in at the time so i wouldnt worry just get a new ps and it will probably work.
cammm14 is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 06:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4
Default

thanks guys/girls
yeah, i tested my new mobo with my old 250w power supply to see if the new mobo light would come on and it did. I didnt actualy turn it on but at least the light came on
so i dont think it fried

i just gotta wiat and get a new PS...>_> oh well

thanks again for your help!
Nathino is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 09:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

well that will teach you to get a cheap power supply, you get what you pay for. i think what param4u said was bogus. having too much wattage doesn't hurt anything, more is better.

my eletrician instructor said power supplies will strain the more they reach the limit of their output and generate more heat. so if you need 350watt and you get a 350 watt PSU , it will put a massive strain on it, by getting more than it needs you increase relaibility.

getting a higher output power supply doesnt mean it uses more electricity/ energy. your power supply will still only draw as much power as it needs to power the components connected to it.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-29-2003, 09:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Go Big!!!
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 12-29-2003, 01:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks again! that is EXACTLY what i wanted to know =)
Nathino is offline  
Old 12-29-2003, 05:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

Ain't it nice when you get exactly the info. you wanted to know?... Tech Forums is good for that
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 12-29-2003, 10:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via Yahoo to mike11973
Default

http://www.xpcgear.com/powersupply.html

look for one of the ones for at least 60 bucks

did your mobo beep repeatedly?.....are you sure you had it wired up properly?.....remove the processor fan and look at it to make sure it isnt fried also....chances are if it is then your mobo probrably went with it.
__________________
NF7/S Rev2.0 : D25 Modded bios by -=Merlin=-(cpc on)
2500+M @ (250*10)
G.Skill ddr 400LA(TCCD)running 1:1@250
3-3-3-3
Saphire 9800 Pro
cpu-1.8v
ram-2.7v
chipset-1.6v

Knowledge IS power....dont be afraid to be open to it.


<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1493626296\">My aquamark score</a>

overclocking 101
mike11973 is offline  
Old 12-29-2003, 11:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to XtrEM3
Default

so would $70 for a 500w super silent psu be too cheap? if so how much should i expect to pay for a 500w power supply
__________________

XtrEM3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.