Power Supply - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2005, 11:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default Power Supply

Will this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811144057

(the power supply on it) run a computer running a 3800+ X2 and a 6800GT, I also have a 500W hercules power supply laying around to pop in if it wont make the cut, and also, if a power supply is not correct (not enough voltage, ex: undercharged for the task) will it ruin anything other than burning itself out or will it just blow itself out and everything should be fine other then that.

Thanks.

- Josh
__________________

JoshSB is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 12:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I wouldn't trust the PSU in that case.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104154
that is one of the best PSU's out. it's really stable, so it will not cause crashes like some PSU's do.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 12:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

why not trust it?
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 06:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

because a lot of people who have Aspire PSU's have had them die
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 10:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JoshSB
why not trust it?
Just because it says it has so and so watts doesn't mean it actually gives the power it says you need. apokalipse's warning is correct because the PSU is your backbone to the rest of your hardware. Too many people cut corners with the PSU which is probably mistake #1. Spend the money and get a good PSU. Go with a manufacturer with a proven trak record: Enermax, Fortran, Antec -- there are others.
GoodNews101 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.