power supply - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2005, 01:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Default power supply

if i buy a power supply that is larger than what i need, will it hurt anything. can i buy a 500 watt just incase i want to upgrade to higher performance parts?
__________________

rcsavageboy is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 01:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

just have to makesure that u buy a true 500watts PSU
__________________

__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 01:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

watts doesn't really matter, the amps it outputs matters

getting a better psu is good and will save you from buying another psu when you upgrade again

what kind of psu are you considering?
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 01:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

You still need wattage to go along with them amps... And most systems ive seen use 400-600 watts...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 01:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Default

ok well ill be running dual hds, one cd rom and one dvd reader, a floppy drive and a zip disk drive. ill be getting an asus p4p800 se mobo and i have a p4 2 ghz processor. so what would all that require?

im not really decided on a psu yet since i was gonna see about the answers i got here.
rcsavageboy is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 01:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

I guess 450 watts should be enough.... But i allways go for the highest in wattage i can go along with the highest amps i can go..... But allways get 20AMP on the 12v rail or more...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...153-007&depa=0
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...153-005&depa=0
and the cheaper thermaltake purepower silent 420W non PFC should be fine for you

however, if you want a psu that'll last you a while even after another upgrade, consider these

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...104-934&DEPA=0
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...103-924&DEPA=0
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...104-154&depa=0
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...104-155&depa=0

i really think you should get the OCZ modstream 450W (after rebate it's only $70!) if you plan on upgrading and NOT getting SLI or AMR (sli is dual nvidia video cards and amr is dual ati video cards)
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.