power supply? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2004, 03:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to alasky
Exclamation power supply?

I just recently ordered a power supply off the Internet but, when i put it in and
reformatted my PC with windows XP it lags and when i try to open aim/mirc etc.. and play music it acts like it struggles to try 2 do both at the same time!!!!! Or if i even try to watch a video and play a song If i open the internet and a song is playing it will either stop or just play the song really slow. I don't think it's the audio driver im just trying to explain that it slows my comp down to do 2 things at once

My comp specs

Windows XP home
512 RAM
2200 AMD processer
32 MB Nvidia video card

The power supply is generic it's a powork-450 cost about 14$
Could a cheap power supply make my computer stuggle to do easy tasks?

I play games Like Day of Defeat and Counter-Strike and it plays those pretty well....

i have Norton Anti-virus so I'm pretty sure i don't have a virus

alasky is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 03:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE

I am guess that before you added the new power supply, you did not have these problems. I would suggest to try this new psu in a different computer and see if it causes any problems.

Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 03:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 139

Have you ran spybot or ad aware recently? sounds like spyware to me because a 450 watt is plenty for the system you're currently using.
amd 3200+ barton
gigabyte 7N400-L mobo
512 kingston
maxtor 40 gb
ati radeon 9600 XT
430 watt psu
thermaltake xtreme volcano 12 hsf
tOny mOnt4n4 is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 05:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

The power supply is generic it's a powork-450 cost about 14$
Theres the key to this whole thing right there...wattage doesn't matter if you don't have a good quality made PSU with strong Rails.....did you even check what your +3.3, +5, and +12v rails were on the OLD PSU compared the NEW one.....if your +12v rail is lower than your old one you've basically shot yourself in the foot.....also keep in mind the old saying.....

You get what you pay for...so yeah $14 man? You can't expect a whole lot out of it...but yes also checking for spyware is always a good idea regardless if your computer happens to be messing up at the time or not
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.