Power Supply - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2006, 12:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
Also avoid flashy PSU's....they tent..to..erm...explode....


Also the heavier the better.
Yeah, good PSUs usually don't need flashy LEds to attract customers. However, some good PSUs do have mirror finishes and the like such as the OCZ POwerstream/GamerStream series.
__________________

Spartan is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 11:58 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

yeah just go with a well nkown company
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 07:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

higher psu formore energy demanding components such as running two video cards in sli..ect.
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 07:29 PM   #14 (permalink)
The ModFather
 
markkleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Reno Nevada
Posts: 273
Default

A lot of it has to do with marketing. Many beleive "MORE IS BETTER".

Video cards are the biggest draw of power on a comp. I use 2 XFX 7600GS cards in SLI. They draw 62 Watts.

A single X1800XT can draw over 220 watts. If you overvolt or OC it it draws even more.

Effeciency is another factor, some PS are more effecient so less of the power is wasted through heat.

For a standard computer with 1 HDD and a X800 videocard and a single core cpu a 250watt PS is fine. (as long as the specs are true)

On the computer I am using now I use a $19 500watt Logisys PS (pure baloney on the specs) but because its just a basic comp its fine.

On my hotrod comp (3 HDDs in Raid0, OC cpu, H20, 2 7600GS in SLI and 5 fans and lights too I use a Silverstone Strider 400 watt PS. It is a excellent PS and has served me well.(got it on sale for $45)
__________________
MKMods
markkleb is offline  
Old 07-23-2006, 11:00 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

My new advice: Don't go with Hiper.

3 days into using their 580w PSU, *poof*, it dies. Replaced it with a 600w Enermax and has been going stable for about a week. Hopefully it shall STAY stable, but you never know with these things....
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 04:47 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Diabetic
My new advice: Don't go with Hiper.

3 days into using their 580w PSU, *poof*, it dies. Replaced it with a 600w Enermax and has been going stable for about a week. Hopefully it shall STAY stable, but you never know with these things....
One bad PSU and the total company should not be used?
I think that is a bit over the top mate

I will have to ask my friend for more details about it but i recall he said his Seasonic died about a hour into use.
His new Seasonic has been going fine for about 6month now i think.
Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 05:23 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default

I maintain you can't go past a good Antec 430/480W TruePower, for just about anything in your system up to (but not including 2 Vid Cards in SLI).

But I am biased cause I have used it for nearly a year now with absolutely no probs.
DeepSearch is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 12:33 AM   #18 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

A high powered psu givees you system stability if u overclock ur cpu and video card. and you do get what you pay for when it comes to power supplies. if u get a powersupply thats cheap in price then u also get a powersupply thats cheap in quality.

but i also have one question. are ultra power supplies any good.
__________________

__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.