power supplies - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2005, 09:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 31
Default power supplies

Another question. Are power supplies brand specific? Would a power supply not work with an amd processor if it was a P4 p/s?

Thank you for your time,

angrykid
__________________

angrykid is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

All PSUs work with AMD and Intel. PCI express boards require different power supplies.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 31
Default

The power supply I have selected says "P4" in it's description. What does that mean?

Also, how can you tell if a certain power supply will work with a pci-express motherboard or graphics card?

Thank you and sorry for the bother,
angrykid
angrykid is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

That P4 is referring to a 4pin connector (not a regular molex) this pin is squared and the pins are set up 2x2 instead of 4 pins in a straight line. AMD's boards need that as well as the 20 or 24 pin main power connector like intels do I believe.

Also as far as PCI-E is concerned they do have adapters to change a regular molex connector to a PCI-E connector, but basically you just gotta see if the decription of the PSU says anything about 'PCI-E Power Connector'
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 31
Default

Thank you very much.
angrykid is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 10:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 31
Default

Is the 24-pin connector REQUIRED for a pci-express mobo?
angrykid is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 10:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

well if you want to save the hassle of frying your stuff/power suddenly going off/eventually a new psu/not being able to OC, you should get a 24-pin, although it's not necessary

so, yes, get a 24-pin psu (spend a good deal on psu, as they are important in cooling, allowing for OC, the noise of your computer, etc.)

what are your specs?
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 12:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 31
Default

what I want:
Athlon 64 3000+
Rosewill Radeon X800xl pci-express
1 gig(2x512mb) of Corsair valueselect ram
RAIDMAX 668WGP green aluminum gaming case
soundblaster audigy 2 zs gamer
Asus A8N-E motherboard
Western Digital Caviar SE 200gig hard drive
Toshiba dual-layer dvd burner
THERMALTAKE PurePower W0068RUC 460watt power supply
Windows XP Pro w/ sp2
angrykid is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 12:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

get a 24pin psu. it's better now to get a really nice psu so later you won't suffer any instability or if you want to upgrade...
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 09:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 31
Default

Thank you. Is there any wattage amount/power supply that you would recommend?
__________________

angrykid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.