Power Requirements - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2004, 04:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
Default Power Requirements

I am trying to build a little fileserver / CVS server / Postgresql server, and after trying to do what I wanted with old PII-era components, I finally broke down and bought some new equipment off of newegg.

I have an MSI P4MAM-V motherboard, a Celeron 2.4G processor, a single stick of Kingston 128M DDR RAM, a 20G hard drive for the system, 3 40G hard drives in a RAID5 array, and a CD-ROM drive.

With all the devices attached, I get through most of the POST process, but get a "disk read error". If I unhook the power connector from one of my drives, then everything works very nicely, so I am thinking this is a matter of not having enough power. I have tried using a 300W Antec power supply and a 400W Rosewill power supply, and neither seems capable of running everything.

Maybe I am just naive, but it doesn't seem to me like this should be using nearly this much power. I am not running a graphics card, no USB, no firewire, no sound card, its basically a barebones system with a few more IDE devices than normal.

I thought about underclocking the CPU to try to free up more power for other devices, but it seems I cannot set it below the default 100Mhz FSB.

Is there anything I can do here other than lay out another $100 for an enthusiast-level power supply ?

I looked through a listing of typical power requirements, and when adding everything up it seemed my system should have no difficulty running on 250W, but that definitely doesn't seem to be the case.
__________________

CliffEmAll is offline  
Old 08-10-2004, 04:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-10-2004, 04:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
Default

Ok, that tells me that I need ( as I suspected ) a 253W power supply. So given that a 400W power supply doesn't seem to be getting the job done, is there some other possible explanation for this behavior?
CliffEmAll is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.