power problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2005, 08:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to xxpyroxx
Question power problem

alright... i just built my own computer and its been running excellent for about a week. the other day i brought it up to my cousins to play some WoW and it said i had a corrupted files. So i was formatting to put Windows XP on it to replace windows 2000 and it shut off. Now when i turn it one its on for about a second and shuts off. I think its the power supply (PH-500ATX), but im not sure. If you need more specs tell me.
__________________

xxpyroxx is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 08:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817163107
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 08:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to xxpyroxx
Default

thank you for your help, but... i dont want to make any purchases that i don't need. im not %100 sure that it is the power supply. thats why i posted for help.
xxpyroxx is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 08:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

What brand is the power supply? Let me guess, Rosewill. If it by any chance it really is Rosewill, get rid of it right now and get a new one!
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 08:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by xxpyroxx
thank you for your help, but... i dont want to make any purchases that i don't need. im not %100 sure that it is the power supply. thats why i posted for help.
Im not sure it is a PSU problem either. If it was just restarting then yes it would be, but u said it had corrupted files...
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 08:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to xxpyroxx
Default

The power supply is the generic one that came with my case. my case is right here. (IT was in my price range.)



http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...&Sku=TC3J-4006
xxpyroxx is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 08:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to xxpyroxx
Default

The corrupted files was before the actuall power problem... I was formatting when it powered off.
xxpyroxx is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 08:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

The PSU that came with that sucks, so u should get a new 1 anyway
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 08:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to xxpyroxx
Default

i was planning on it, but not this early. heh heh heh
Do you think it is the psu???
xxpyroxx is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 08:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Even if it isnt, u should replace it. Borrow a friend's to see
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.