Power off button - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2004, 04:10 AM   #11 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

right....like the past 3 or 4 posts have stated. pressing the power button in for 10 seconds is ALL BIOS related and NOT the OS.....so if you are running a program in the background it doesn't get shutdown properly....even the OS doesn't get shutdown properly. Pressing the power button in once shuts down the computer in 2000 and XP. (NT 4.0 had a major problem with this) but, anyway.......you can somewhat properly shutdown your system by hitting the power button once OR.....the best way is just through the menu. you can also create an icon on your desktop that you double-click that will shutdown the system properly for you......hopefully though.....your questions have been answered.
oh, and by the way, you are NOT stupid. this is a truely VIABLE question and if I see one more comment about other people saying differntly and/or shouting out unnecessary material, i'll personally ban them for good. this is a totally legit question......and if you need ANY help after you read our suggestions, please post more and we'll get you the help you need without taking "shots" at you like some people feel that they need to do.
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 11:41 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Holding the switch down (on most systems) is a power-kill switch. If you hold the switch down, it's not the OS turning the computer off, the OS has no clue what's going on. The power just gets killed and the system dies instantly.

If you hit the switch (momentary contact) you activate the OS's/BIOS's defined instructions. If you have it setup to go into standby on power press, it will do so. Most of this functionality is setup in the BIOS, and then later in the OS's power management.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 06:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

its fine to shutdown via power button, as long as its not used to slam the system (holding in power or pulling the plug). The quick power push is intercepted and a normal shutdown is initiated (u can check bios to set to sleep mode or shutdown via power switch). Do NOT do this on older machines, only newer MBD's have this option. Check the bios.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 06:59 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I think there's an option in the BIOS where you can actually designate the power switch to do something other than just shut it off.

I actually didn't know XP was made so you could hit the power button and it still shuts down properly, I just have a key on the keyboard that shuts it down for me.

Sounds like it's the common case of each friend knows a way to do the same thing, but neither can prove that it's the same so war breaks out. Oh well, if you know him in real life then just show him
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 07:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Yer right, Nubius. Depending on the mobo and BIOS, the power switch (and other switches) can be used to due a number of things.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 07:52 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mikesgroovin
right....like the past 3 or 4 posts have stated. pressing the power button in for 10 seconds is ALL BIOS related and NOT the OS.....
100% Correct.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.