Power off button - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2004, 05:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default Power off button

Today I had an argument with someone about the how to properly turn your computer off, because when i was told to do it i just pushed the power button and computer did all the usual stuff(log off, save settings and then it turned off). The person who told me to do it said that it wasn't the "proper" way to do it. He said that you have to go with the manual way( through START-> TURN OFF YOUR COMPUTER-> YES). I started agruing that its the same thing, but i don't know how to prove it. Can someone please give me a link to a legit site that proves my point(because i can't find one).
__________________

__________________
_________________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ @3.0 Ghz
Asus A7N8X-E DELUXE
Thermaltake Highest Xaser III (7 80mm case fans)
BFG 6800 ULTRA OC
MGE XG Vortec 600W Power Supply
1G Corsair XMS PC-3200
2 x 120 Gig 7200RPM
Logitech 5.1 - Z640 Speakers
Thermaltake BigWater Liquid Cooling System
ViewSonic VP201b 20.5\" LCD (16 ms refresh rate)
Stupid is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 05:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 447
Send a message via AIM to Pavlyk
Default

It looks like you are stupid as said in your name. You power off your computer from start--> shut down--> yes. If you press the power button you will just damage your hard drives, and other parts of your pc.
__________________

Pavlyk is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 05:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 153
Send a message via AIM to OCC Fan
Default

ok it depends, if your power button needs to be held down for 10 seconds to turn off, then its bad and you're stupid for not just clicking 3 times.... if all you have to do is press it like a normal button for less that 1 second, then you're still stupid.... either way.... i would still click START, turn off computer... or like me, you can just click the windows button between "ctrl" and "alt" click the up arrow once, and then press enter twice.....
OCC Fan is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 05:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default

if u press the power off button once it goes through the same sequence as START->TURN OFF YOUR COMPUTER->YES (this i know as a fact) so pavlyk dont talk if u dont know what are u takling about.

The thing is that some crappy mobos dont have this feature and if u press the power button it powers it off instatly and i know that its bad.
__________________
_________________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ @3.0 Ghz
Asus A7N8X-E DELUXE
Thermaltake Highest Xaser III (7 80mm case fans)
BFG 6800 ULTRA OC
MGE XG Vortec 600W Power Supply
1G Corsair XMS PC-3200
2 x 120 Gig 7200RPM
Logitech 5.1 - Z640 Speakers
Thermaltake BigWater Liquid Cooling System
ViewSonic VP201b 20.5\" LCD (16 ms refresh rate)
Stupid is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 05:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

depends on the OS and power management of the motherboard, but the answer your looking for with winblows is in the operators manual
horndude is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 06:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Depends on the OS and Power Management.

On both my computer, if I press the POWER BUTTON for 10 seconds, it will shut down. And shut down properly.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 11:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

If you hold down the power-button for 10 seconds (or whatever) you're not doing anything OS related. That's all BIOS and hardware controlled.

As a rule, you should never turn off your computer by the power button, which is essentially just a main system switch for the power. It doesn't do anything else.

Now some POS Compaq and Dell machines have an integrated power-button system that does fancy crap when you press it...but that's all bull to begin with.

Take care of your machine, do the START->Shutdown->Okay procedure, and spare yourself the hell of having your tormented hardware crap out on you quick because you're abusing it. (Not to mention save US from having to help you rebuild your system once you've destroyed it.)
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 12:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 213
Send a message via AIM to The Rage
Default

If it is XP, pressing the power botton shuts the PC down properly. At least it does on mine. This is for accidental pushing of the button. I still go start>turnoff computer>shut down.
__________________
You wouldn\'t like me when I\'m angry
The Rage is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 01:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

The Rage is correct; XP should shut down properly when you press the power button, and so does 2000 and I think NT 4.0
Windows ME, 98 and below just 'turn off' without shutting down; these are the OS's that you should always shut down from start, shut down

it also depends on the motherboard too, sometimes the motherboard doesn't support software shut downs when you press the power button, so in this case you shouldn't use the button either
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 03:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

i have three XP machines and on all of them, holding down the power button does not do a proper shutdown, it goes power button 10 secs > poof hard shutdown. i always shutdown going through the start > turn off/shutdown method.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.